News Archive#

Biodegrability of Plastic

Read the new SAPEA Evidence Review Report presenting the latest scientific evidence on the biodegradability of plastics in the open environment.

Karl Fuchs (1932 - 2021)

Professor Dr. Karl Fuchs, distinguished member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section, passed away on 22 March 2021 after a remarkable scientific career.
Read the obituary by Hans Thybo, MAE and Sierd Cloetingh, president of Academia Europaea.

Donald Dingwell elected to the Royal Society

Prof. Donald B. Dingwell, Academia Europaea Vice-President and a member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section of Academia Europaea elected as Fellow of the Royal Society.

Christian Dustmann

Professor Christian Dustmann, member of the Economics, business and management sciences section of Academia Europaea has been awarded the Carl-Friedrich-von-Weizsäcker-Prize 2020.

Nominations for the 2022 Novo Nordisk Prize

Call for Nominations for the DKK 5 million (appr. EUR 672,000) 2022 Novo Nordisk Prize.
Deadline: 1 June, 2021.

Postdoc position

Bioelectrodynamics Research team, Institute of Photonics and Electronics of the Czech Academy of Sciences.
Position can be started from June 2021, but no later than January 2022.


Members of Academia Europaea are invited to participate in the ALLEA project.
The deadline for sending in expressions of interest: April 12, 2021.

Pieter Muysken (1950 – 2021)

Professor Pieter Muysken, member of the Linguistics section of Academia Europaea passed away 6 April 2021.


A committee chaired by Prof. Erol Gelenbe, member of the Informatic section of Academia Europaea, published a report addressing key problems in scientific and technical communication, and peer review.

2021 Premi Ramon Margalef d'Ecologia Open Call

Invitation to AE members to submit nominations for the 2021 Premi Ramon Margalef d'Ecologia.
Deadline: 31st April, 2021.

Qiuming Cheng

AAG Gold Medal awarded to Prof. Qiuming Cheng, a member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section of the Academy.

BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards

2021 Nominations open: BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards.
The closing date for submissions is June 30, 2021, at 23:00 GMT.

2021 Abel Prize

Academia Europaea are proud to announce the award of the 2021 Abel Prize to the distinguished member Professor László Lovász MAE, the Academic Director of the AE Budapest Knowledge Hub and a member of the Mathematics section of Academia Europaea.

Nomination cycle 2020-2021 closed March 31

Academia Europaea members are invited to submit nominations for membership. The nomination cycle will close on 31 March 2021.

AE Newsletter March 2021

Read the newsletter from the President of Academia Europaea, Professor Sierd Cloetingh.
March 2021.

Wolf Prize 2021

2021 Wolf Prize awarded to two members of Academia Europaea, Professor Joan Steitz and Professor Giorgio Parisi.

RSB COVID-19 Bulletin March 1

Academia Europaea would like to inform its members about the publication of the latest COVID-19 Bulletin of the Royal Society of Biology. The bulletin presents
interesting news about the COVID-19 research.
1 March 2021.

André Mischke YAE Prize 2021

Call for nominations for the André Mischke YAE Prize for Science and Policy 2021.
The deadline has been extended until 15 April 2021.


André Mischke YAE Prize 2020 awarded to Dr Grant Hill-Cawthorne in recognition of his internationally leading roles in academic research, management, and policymaking.

Cardiff Knowledge Hub Annual Report 2020

AE Cardiff Hub’s Annual Report 2020 is available now.

Paul Crutzen (1933 - 2021)

Professor Paul J. Crutzen, Nobel Prize Laureate for Chemistry 1995, Erasmus Medal winner 1997 and member of the Earth and Cosmic Science section of Academia Europaea passed away 28 January 2021.
Read the commemorative words by Professor Sierd Cloetingh, the President of Academia Europaea.

Daniel Carasso Fellowship

The Daniel Carasso Fellowship is an initiative to support research on sustainable food systems.
Call for nominations.
Call closure: 05.03.2021

Academia Europaea 2021

Academia Euroapea thanks its members, patrons, institutional sponsors and partners and all visitors of its web site for a fruitful 2021.

EASAC Newsletter

Read the latest newsletter by EASAC, the European Academies Science Advisory Council.

The Temptation of Homo Europaeus

A new edition of the book by Prof. Victor Neumann, member of the History and archaeology section of the Academy.

New AE Budapest Knowledge Hub

The new AE Budapest Knowledge Hub was launched on 9 December 2020.


Attend the virtual launch of the AE Budapest Knowledge Hub.
9 DECEMBER 2020, 14.00-16.00 (CET)

Donald B. Dingwell

2020 Harry H. HESS Medal of the American Geophysical Union awarded to Donald B. Dingwell.

Interview with Gemma Modinos

Interview with Gemma Modinos, new Chair of the Young Academy of Europe.

Gemma Modinos

Gemma Modinos appointed Chair of the Young Academy of Europe (YAE) Board.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-4) was last changed on Friday, 13. March 2015, 15:25 by Admin Acad
  • operated by