News Archive#

Strategic Plan 2019-2024

Read Academia Europaea's new strategic plan 2019 - 2024.


CLOSING DATE FOR RECEIPT OF NOMINATIONS IS: Noon (UK time) on 30th November 2019.

Abraham-Gottlob-Werner Medal

Abraham-Gottlob-Werner Medal for Professor Donald B. Dingwell.

Interview with Johan Rooryck

Interview with Professor Professor Johan Rooryck MAE, Professor of French Linguistics at Leiden University and an Open Access Champion.

Evidence in policymaking

Representatives from SAPEA, EU Commission, science advisors, and EU Science Hub
addressed a packed room on how to ensure EU policy is informed by the best available evidence.

Interview with David Prangishvili

Interview with Professor David Prangishvili MAE, Professor at the Pasteur Institute in Paris and Academic Director of the AE Tbilisi Knowledge Hub.

International Research Award

The Max Weber Foundation and the Historisches Kolleg are inviting nominations for the International Research Award.
Closing date for applications: 15 November.

Alan Dixon

Professor Alan Dixon to be awarded the second Adam Kondorosi – AE Advanced Award for Research in recognition of his lifetime contribution to the field of Plant-Microbe symbioses. The award ceremony will take place on Thursday 24 October 2019, at the Academia Europaea annual conference in Barcelona.


31th Annual Plenary Conference of Academia Europaea in Barcelona, Spain.
Website and registration now open!
October 23-24, 2019.
Updated draft programme available (1 July, 2019).

Interview with Mangala Srinivas

Interview with Dr Mangala Srinivas, Chair of the Young Academy of Europe (YAE)

New SAPEA Evidence Review Report

A new Evidence Review Report entitled "Making sense of science for policy under conditions of complexity and uncertainty" published by SAPEA.
9th July 2019.

Interview with Theo Dhaen

Read the interview with Professor Theo D’haen, Emeritus Professor of English and Comparative Literature, KU Leuven.

Interview with Peter Hegyi

Read the interview with Professor Peter Hegyi, Director of the Centre of Transnational Medicine, the University of Pécs.

Appointment of AE members to ERC Scientific Council

Professor Milena Žic Fuchs and Professor Eystein Jansen appointed to the governing body of the European Research Council (ERC), the Scientific Council

Transforming the Future of Ageing Report

SAPEA publishes the report “Transforming the future of ageing”. This is the second report published since Sierd Cloetingh, the President of Academia Europaea, was elected Chair of SAPEA.

Adrian Bejan Receives Humboldt Research Award for Lifetime Achievement

Prof. Bejan receives an award for his pioneering contributions to modern thermodynamics and "Constructal Law".

Venice Biennale

Alexandru Nicolau and his team create three art installations at the Vencice Bienalle interacting with viewers through artificial intelligence.

Commandeur Award to Erol Gelenbe

Award of the honour of Commandeur de l’Ordre National du Merite to Erol Gelenbe.

Interview with Rosalind L Smyth

Read the interview with Professor Rosalind L Smyth, Director and Professor of Child Health UCL Great Ormond St Institute of Child Health

Donald Bruce Dingwell

VIP Career Achievement Award to Donald B. Dingwell, the Vice-President of Academia Europaea, by the Geological Association of Canada (CAC).

EASAC report on climate change and health

The imperativ of climate action to protect human health in Europe
New EASAC policy report
June 2019

Mission Boards

A call by the European Commision for experts to join ‘Mission Boards’.
Deadline: 11 June 2019.

Tbilisi Regional Knowledge Hub

Academia Europaea and the Young Academy of Europe formally launch a new Regional Knowledge Hub in Tbilisi (Republic of Georgia) on 24 April 2019.

Adam Kondorosi Academia Europaea Award for Advanced Research

Call for nominations for the Adam Kondorosi Academia Europaea Award for Advanced Research.
Deadline for nominations: June 1st 2019.

Why the Days Seem Shorter as We Get Older

Article by Adrian Bejan ranked 1st in a list of trending papers in the category 'All Categories' among all works published in March 2019.
Enjoy reading!

Ewald R. Weibel

Ewald R. Weibel (1929 – 2019)

Post-doctoral researchers hired

The Université de Nantes, the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Università di Napoli l’Orientale, the University of Kent and the University of Amersterdam are hiring post-doctoral researchers for the project “The European Qur’an: Islamic Scripture in European Culture and Religion (1150-1850)” (EuQu).
Application deadline: April 1st, 2019.

Doctoral Scholarships on the Qur’an

Doctoral candidates for work on the project “The European Qur’an: Islamic Scripture in European Culture and Religion (1150-1850)” (EuQu) recruited.
Application deadline: April 1, 2019.

2020 Millennium Technology Prize

Technology Academy Finland TAF calls for nominations for the 2020 Millennium Technology Prize.
1 April – 31 July 2019

Lord Martin Rees

Interview with Astronomer Royal Professor Martin Rees on occassion of the publication of his latest book On the Future: Prospects for Humanity.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-4) was last changed on Friday, 13. March 2015, 15:25 by Admin Acad
  • operated by