Legal Basis#

The Academia Europaea was originally created under a 'declaration of trust' and until 2010 was registered as an not-for-profit association under English charity law (with former registration number 1001978).

In 2010, The Academia Europaea Ltd was registered at Companies House in the UK as a Company Limited by Guarantee (registration number 7028223) and was also registered as a not-for-profit charity with the Charity Commission for England and Wales (registration number 1133902). The registered address is at Room 251, Senate House, University of London, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU, Great Britain.


The Board of Trustees of the Academia Europaea#


Professor Sierd Cloetingh

Professor of Tectonics,
Utrecht University

President elect

Professor Marja Makarow

Professor of Applied Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Helsinki

Vice President
Section Chair: Philosophy, theology and religious studies

Professor Genoveva Marti

ICREA Research Professor at the Universitat de Barcelona

Honorary Treasurer
(pro tem)

Dr. Oskar Mencer

Founder and CEO of Maxeler Technologies

Deputy Treasurer
Vice President (ex officio)

Professor Ole Petersen

Professor of Physiology at Cardiff University

Vice President (ex officio)
Class Chair: Class A1 - Humanities and Arts

Professor Poul Holm

Professor of History, Trinity College Dublin

Vice President (ex officio)
Class Chair: Class B – Exact Sciences

Professor Donald Dingwell

Director, Department for Earth and Enviromental Sciences, Chair of Mineralogy and Petrology Research, Professor for Experimental Volcanology, University of Munich

Vice President (ex officio)
Class Chair: Class A2 - Social and Related Sciences

Professor Björn Wittrock

Professor, Uppsala University and Founding Director and Permanent Fellow of the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study

Trustee, widening participation, liaison with the Young Academy and the ERC (co-opted member)
Class Chair: Class C - Life Sciences (pro tem)

Professor Eva Kondorosi

Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Szeged

Trustee, Editor in chief of the European Review (co-opted member)

Professor Theo D'Haen

Professor of Literary Studies, Catholic University of Leuven/Louvain


Professor Alex Verkhratsky

Professor of Neurophysiology at the School of Biological Sciences, The University of Manchester


Professor Eystein Jansen

Director of the Bergen Knowledge Hub

The Secretary to the Board

Dr. David Coates

Last updated 19 April 2021.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-188) was last changed on Thursday, 30. September 2021, 20:09 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by