The closing date for the nomination is 31st of October 2021 (midnight GMT).#

Since 1992 the conferring of the Erasmus Medal of the Academia is a highlight of the opening session of our annual meetings. Based on nominations by the membership, evaluation and recommendation by the relevant AE class’ committee, and decision of the Board, the Erasmus Medal is awarded to a scholar (preferably, but not necessary, a member of AE) who has maintained, over a sustained period, the highest level of international scholarship. The medalist is invited to give the annual Erasmus Lecture during the opening session of the Annual Meeting of the Academia.

The Erasmus Medal in 2022 will be awarded to a scholar working in a field belonging to our Class C (Life Sciences).

You are most welcome to submit a nomination using the 2022 nomination form(info) via email to Prof. Gulyás, Coordinator of the Erasmus Medal search process, at, with a copy to our secretariat (

As mentioned above, the field of activity of the nominee should belong to a discipline covered by our Class C (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Cell and developmental biology, Physiology and neuroscience, Organismic and evolutionary biology, Clinical and veterinary sciences).

The most important part of the nomination is the “case for the award” which should be comprehensive and concise, emphasizing the candidate’s most distinguished achievements and her/his lifetime scholarship in the respective field, with special regard to enriching our European scientific heritage. Please keep in mind that the medalist is expected to deliver a plenary lecture at one of the future distinguished meetings of AE in front of a mixed audience and, consequently, an attractive and eloquent speaker is always welcome.

If possible, please compliment your nomination with the CV and the publication list of the candidate as well as a suggested ‘laudator’ of the candidate.

The closing date of the nomination period is the 31st of October 2021 (midnight GMT).

Erasmus Medal

Erasmus Medal#

The Erasmus Medal (and accompanying Lecture) is a highlight of the year of the Academia Europaea. It is awarded to honour individual European scholarship and achievements over a sustained period.

The procedure for identifying candidates to receive the award:
  1. The Council decide on the area(s) for the award. This might be for example, on a four year cycle e.g. humanities, physical sciences, social sciences, biological and medical sciences.
  2. A search group of appropriate section chairs will be established, under the co-ordination of a member of the Board of Trustees.
  3. The search group will agree on a process and carry out a search for candidates. The search may involve an open call for proposals; a call from within the AE membership, or a more restricted search. Whatever the method chosen, all nominations should come with a citation and suggested referees. The search group create a long-list of at least five candidates.
  4. The Search group will then agree a short-list (of not less than three names) and seek referees’ reports for these candidates.
  5. The medallist is selected by a vote of the whole Council.

The medallist is selected (at least) one year before the award is actually given.
Being a recipient of other awards is no barrier to receiving the Erasmus medal.
Candidates are not limited to current members of the Academia, as the award carries with it automatic membership.

General criteria for the award#

The Erasmus Medal of the Academia Europaea, is awarded on the recommendation of the Council, to a member or scholar who has maintained over a sustained period, the highest level of international scholarship and recognition by peers. The medalist is invited to give the annual Erasmus Lecture and if appropriate to receive membership.

In addition the search group will take into account:

  • that all purely academic nominations are supported by detailed evidence of the suitability of any candidate. This includes their international standing, achievements/impacts in their respective field(s) and impact on European scholarship and the community of scholars.
  • Candidates do not already have to be elected members of the Academia Europaea, as the award automatically comes with an invitation to membership.
  • Nominations for candidates who might not meet the ‘normal’ Academic/scholarship criteria can be considered: but only where such people have also made a significant and long term impact on scholarship and learning through their personal actions, or where their involvement in ‘the European learning Sector’ and environments has contributed in a substantial way to the promotion of and support for research and learning.
  • There is no obligation or suggestion to find a candidate from the country hosting the annual meeting, or a national from the hosting country. However, wherever possible a European based scholar (of any nationality) is most definitely preferred.
  • The award is in two parts - the Medal and the Lecture. It is therefore critical that the group take into account the quality of the potential speaker, and their willingness to have the lecture published.

The Erasmus Medal and lecture are currently sponsored by The Heinz-Nixdorf Foundation.


Erasmus Medal Winners (since 1992)#

  • 2008 Liverpool (UK): Semir Zeki (UK) (Pysiology & Medicine)
  • 2006 Budapest (H): Bert Sakmann (D), (Physiology and Medicine) Nobel Prize Medicine 1991
  • 2005 Postdam (D): Pierre Léna (F) (Earth & Cosmic Sciences)
  • 2002 Lisbon (P): Harold Kroto (UK) (Chemistry) Nobel Prize Chemistry 1996
  • 2001 not an annual meeting: Giorgio Bernardi (I) (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
  • 1998 Basel (CH): Peter Burke (GB) (History and Archeology)
  • 1997 Gent (B): Paul Crutzen (NL) (Earth and Cosmic Sciences) Nobel Prize Chemistry 1995
  • 1996 Barcelona (E): Hubert Markl (D) (Organismic& Evolutionay Biology)

Heinz Nixdorf Foundation


The Erasmus Medal in 2017 will be awarded to a scholar working in a field belonging to the “A2” Class (A7: Behavioural sciences, A8: Social sciences, A9: Law, A10: Economics, business and management sciences). In agreement with the decision of the Board, ALL members of AE are eligible to nominate a candidate for the Erasmus Medal (and the nominations are not restricted to members of the “relevant sections” [i.e. in the case A7-A10] only) and the section chairs will be asked to inform the members of their sections about the nomination. The closing date for the nomination is the 1 October 2016.

Call for nominations#

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-73) was last changed on Tuesday, 11. January 2022, 10:03 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by