News Archive#

Election of Sierd Cloetingh as President

The re-election of Professor Sierd Cloetingh (University of Utrecht) to the Presidency for a second term confirmed by the membership of the Academia Europaea at their Annual Business Meeting on 4 September 2017 in Budapest.
Read the President's election statement.

Allan Downie

The first AE-Adam Kondorosi prize awarded to Professor Allan Downie

2017 Erasmus Medal

2017 Erasmus Medal for individual scholarship and career-long achievement to Professor Andreu Mas-Colell.

Gold Medal of the Academia Europaea

Gold Medal of the Academia Europaea to Professor Helga Nowotny MAE

Framework Agreement for continuation of Academia Europaea Knowledge Hub in Wroclaw

The President of Academia Europaea, Professor Sierd Cloetingh and the Mayor of Wrocław, Rafał Dutkiewicz signed the official Framework Agreement for Continuation of Academia Europaea Knowledge Hub in Wrocław.

Importance of research and innovation in Europe

Call for participation in survey on research & Innovation in Europe.
The participation in the survey is endorsed by Academia Europaea.

Anne Buttimer (1938–2017)

Anne Buttimer, Vice President of the Academia Europaea, passed away on July 15, 2017

Krijn de Jong

Krijn de Jong, Professor at Utrecht University has been selected as the recipient of the 2017 Francois Gault Lectureship.

2018 Millennium Technology Prize

Call for nominations for the Millennium Technology Prize. The nomination period will close on July 31, 2017.

The Future of University Development Cooperation

Save the date: The Future of University Development Cooperation. Perspectives of Leading Research Universities.
Leuven, 2 June 2017


Academia Europaea is now associated to the European Alliance for Social Sciences and Humanties (EASSH).

Young Academy of Europe April 2017

Message from the Chair of the Young Academy of Europe.
April 2017

Letter to Hungarian Prime Minister Orban

The President of the Academia Europaea Sierd Cloetingh writes to Hungarian Prime Minister Orban expressing concern at proposed legislative impacts targeting the Central European University

Holberg Prize 2017

The Holberg Prize 2017 awarded to British scholar and Philosophy Professor Onora O'Neill.

Young Academy of Europe March 2017

Message from the Chair of the Young Academy of Europe.
March 2017

The 2016 AE Russia Prizes

The 2016 AE Russia Prizes awards ceremony.

Cardiff Knowledge Hub Newsletter Winter 2016

Winter 2017

Call for presentations

Call for presentations on behalf of the History and Archaelogy section at the Academia Europaea 29th Annual Conference 2017 in Budapest
Provisional programme now available

Sonata a tre

The complete catalogue raisonné of the Sonata a tre edited by Ludwig Finscher, Laurenz Lütteken and Inga Mai Groote

Laura Shannon Prize

Nominations for the $10,000 Laura Shannon Prize in Contemporary European Studies.
Deadline: January 31, 2017

2017 Klaus J. Jacobs Research Prize

The Jacobs Foundation invites members of the Academy of Europe to nominate candidates for the 2017 Klaus J. Jacobs Research Prize.
Deadline for Submission: 1 March 2017.

Petition in support of Professor Hans Thybo

Signatures on a petition in support of Professor Thybo MAE

Ole Petersen

Interview with Professor Ole Petersen, Vice-President Academia Europaea and
Cardiff Hub Academic Director

Consequences of Brexit for universities in Europe

Introductory talk by Academia Europaea President Sierd Cloetingh at panel discussion at the Free University in Berlin.

Paul Hagenmuller

Paul Hagenmuller, member of the Chemical Sciences section, passed away on January 7, 2017

Award to Herbert Gleiter

Award of the "Medal of Friendship-Order of Merit" and election to the rank of Fellow of the US National Academy of Inventors (NAI) to Prof. Herbert Gleiter.

Balzan Prize 2016

Balzan Prize 2016 awarded to Piero Boitani, Federico Capasso and Reinhard Jahn.

2016 Annual Balzan Lecture

2016 Annual Balzan Lecture held by Pascale Cossart at EPFL in Lausanne, December 14, 2016.

Cardiff Knowledge Hub Newsletter Autumn 2016

Autumn 2016

Honorary Membership of SLE

Honorary membership awarded at the SLE 2016 to Anna Giacalone Ramat and Paolo Ramat.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-4) was last changed on Friday, 13. March 2015, 15:25 by Admin Acad
  • operated by