Abel Prize

Call for nominations for the ABEL Prize 2024#

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters hereby invites you (or your society or institution) to nominate candidate(s) for the Abel Prize 2024.
  • Your nomination should be accompanied by a description of the work and impact of the nominee/nominees, together with names of distinguished specialists in the field of the nominee/nominees who can be contacted for an independent opinion.
  • When nominating it is a requirement to take into account that the nominee has adhered to general guidelines for research ethics. We encourage nominators to be mindful of the full diversity of the scientific enterprise.

Your letter of nomination should be sent no later than September 1, 2023.

For further information about:#


Academia Europaea supports eligible nominations from members. Any such nominations must first be submitted to the appropriate Section chair to seek the support of the Section committee. The deadline for internal receipt of nominations is 14th August 2023. #

In 2021, Professor László Lovász, the Academic Director of the AE Budapest Knowledge Hub and a member of the Mathematics section of Academia Europaea was awarded the Abel prize (shared with Avi Wigderson).#

About the Abel Prize#

The Abel Prize recognizes outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics, including mathematical aspects of computer science, mathematical physics, probability, numerical analysis and scientific computing, statistics and applications of mathematics in the sciences.

The Abel Prize amounts to NOK 7,5 million.

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters awards the Abel Prize on the basis of a recommendation from the Academy’s Abel Committee, chaired by an Academy member and consisting of four further members elected among names put forward by the International Mathematical Union and the European Mathematical Society. The Abel Prize may be awarded to one single person, or shared for closely related fundamental contributions. The Abel Committee receives all nominations and may itself nominate candidates for the Abel Prize.

The Abel Prize was established in 2002, and awarded for the first time in 2003.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-19) was last changed on Wednesday, 16. August 2023, 08:30 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by