Press releases and published opinions#



  • Stick to Science. The Academia Europaea strongly supports the initiative “Stick to Science, 8 February 2022.


  • Press release published by the Board of trustees of the AE responding to the recent attacks on the academic freedom of the institution and staff of Boğaziçi University in Turkey. 8th May 2021.


  • Petition by the Friends of the ERC. Academia Europaea endorses the petition by the Friends of the ERC calling upon the Heads of States and Governments, to secure funding for the ERC in Horizon Europe, the next European framework programme for Research and Innovation. April 2020.


  • Science, Ethics and Responsibility”. Academia Europaea strongly supports the principles that have been set out in the WSF declaration on “Science, Ethics and Responsibility”, that was agreed at the 2019 World Science Forum, held in Budapest November 2019.




  • Data Protection Directive: Implementing the General Data Protection Regulation [2016/679] to maintain a competitive environment for research in Europe, October 13, 2016.


  • Press release: Science Advisory Mechanism. European Academy Organisations' statement on President Juncker's announcement of the new mechanism for independent scientific advice, 13 May 2015.
  • Press release: European Academy Organisations Sign Memorandum of Understanding, by ALLEA (All European Academies), 26 March 2015.


  • Press release: AE comment on the proposal of the President of the European Commission for a significant change of policy and budget for the Horizon 2020 support program for research and innovation, December 3, 2014.
  • Press release(info) on the election of the new president of Academia Europaea, Professor Sierd Cloetingh, July 17, 2014.
  • Press release(info) on the inauguration of the Academia Europaea Knowledge Hub Region Bergen, June 2, 2014.





  • Key points(info) in the Commentary to the Commission Report "Europe 2020", April 2010.


  • A statement(info) by the Academia Europaea on the importance of the Humanities in the context of the European Research Area, September 2004. The statement was prepared by an expert panel of members of the Academia Europaea: Professor Jürgen Mittelstrass (Philosophy), Professor Jørgen Rischel (Linguistics), Professor Stig Strömholm (Law), Professor Henk Wesseling (History).

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-120) was last changed on Friday, 12. July 2024, 21:50 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by