President's page#

Marja Makarow

Letter to AE and YAE members and guests from the President Marja Makarow#

October 2022#

Dear members of the Academia Europaea, members of the Young Academy and guest readers,#

I am looking forward to our 33rd “Building Bridges” annual member conference in Barcelona in two week’s time (25-27 October). You can still register. I am particularly looking forward to welcoming many of the new members elected in the past two, difficult COVID limited years, into our community of scholars. You are joining a community of excellence with a global impact and span.

To highlight this, it is with great pleasure that I can send collective congratulations, to those Academia Europaea members who will be awarded the distinction of a Nobel Prize 2022. These awards are both singular honours and in a real way reflect the scientific and scholarly excellence that our Academy reflects. So, congratulations to the following members who now join the distinguished list of members of Academia Europaea that have received a Nobel prize in earlier years:

Alain Aspect (France) – elected to our academy in 2009 (Physics and Engineering Section), and Anton Zeilinger (Austria), elected in 2011 (Informatics Section) who receive the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Alain Aspect
Professor Alain Aspect

Anton Zeilinger
Professor Anton Zeilinger

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine will be awarded to Svante Pääbo (Sweden) - elected to our Academy in 1998 (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Section).

Svante Pääbo
Professor Svante Pääbo

However, members have also been recognised through other international awards:

Dorthe Dahl-Jensen (Denmark) - elected in 2022 and Johannes Oerlemans (The Netherlands) - elected in 1989, have both won 2022 Balzan Prizes and are members of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences Section.

Dorthe Dahl-Jensen
Prof. Dorthe Dahl-Jensen

Johannes Oerlemans
Prof. Johannes Oerlemans

Hugo Duminil-Copin (France) - elected in 2019, James Maynard (UK) - elected in 2020 and Maryna Viazovska (Ukraine) - elected in 2021, have all been awarded a Fields medal this year. They are members of our Mathematics Section.

Hugo Duminil-Copin
Prof. Hugo Duminil-Copin

James Maynard
Prof. James Maynard

Maryna Viazovska
Prof. Maryna Viazovska

Also two members of the Mathematics Section, Noga Alon (elected 2008 - Israel) and Ehud Hrushovski (elected 2018 - Israel/UK) and Michael Perryman (elected 1998 - UK), member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences Section, were awarded the Shaw Prize.

Professor Noga Alon
Professor Noga Alon

Professor Ehud Hrushovski
Professor Ehud Hrushovski

Professor Michael Perryman
Professor Michael Perryman

Katalin Karikó (Hungary) - elected in 2020 and a member of the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Section, was awarded the 2022 Tang Prize.

Katalin Karikó
Prof. Katalin Karikó

The Academy will be there to help and support a member in pursuit of international prizes.#

Marja Makarow
October 2022

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-2) was last changed on Thursday, 23. February 2023, 10:27 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by