The 2022 Tang Prize awarded to Prof. Katalin Karikó#

The 2022 Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science is jointly awarded to Katalin Karikó MAE, Drew Weissman, and Pieter Cullis for the discovery of key vaccinology concepts and approaches, leading to the successful development of mRNA-based COVID-19 vaccine.

2022 Tang Prize

For the full news report, please visit:
Laureates in a Nutshell
Laureate's response to the award

About the Tang Prize#

Since the advent of globalization, mankind has been able to enjoy the convenience brought forth by the advancement of human civilization and science. Yet a multitude of challenges, such as climate change, the emergence of new infectious diseases, wealth gap, and moral degradation, have surfaced along the way. Against this backdrop, Dr. Samuel Yin established the Tang Prize in December 2012. It consists of four award categories, namely Sustainable Development, Biopharmaceutical Science, Sinology, and Rule of Law. Every other year, four independent and professional selection committees, comprising many internationally renowned experts, scholars, and Nobel winners, choose as Tang Prize laureates people who have influenced and made substantive contributions to the world, regardless of ethnicity, nationality or gender. A cash prize of NT$50 million (approx. US$1.7 million) is allocated to each category, with NT$10 million (approx. US$ 0.35 million) of it being a research grant intended to encourage professionals in every field to examine mankind’s most urgent needs in the 21st century, and become leading forces in the development of human society through their outstanding research outcomes and active civic engagement.

Academia Europaea congratulates Prof. Karikó to this distinction!#

Tang prize
Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-3) was last changed on Wednesday, 31. August 2022, 23:20 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by