2022 Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences and Astronomy awarded to three members of Academia Europaea#

Academia Europaea congratulates Noga Alon, Professor of Mathematics at the University of Princeton andand Baumritter Professor Emeritus of Mathematics and Computer Science at Tel Aviv University, and Ehud Hrushovski, Merton Professor of Mathematical Logic, Oxford University, to their award of the 2022 Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences and Michael Perryman, currently Adjunct Professor, School of Physics at University College Dublin, (together with Lennart Lindegren) to his award of the 2022 Shaw Prize in Astronomy.

Professor Alon and Ehud Hrushovski who are both members of the Mathematics section of Academia Europaea are awarded the prize "for their remarkable contributions to discrete mathematics and model theory with interaction notably with algebraic geometry, topology and computer sciences."

Michael Perryman is a member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section of Academia Europaea and was awarded the prize for his "lifetime contributions to space astrometry, and in particular for their role in the conception and design of the European Space Agency’s Hipparcos and Gaia missions."

Professor Noga Alon
Professor Noga Alon

Professor Ehud Hrushovski
Professor Ehud Hrushovski

Professor Michael Perryman
Professor Michael Perryman

Please read the official press release for more details https://www.shawprize.org/laureates/mathematical-sciences.

The Shaw Prize Award Ceremony 2022 will be held virtually on Thursday, 29 Sep 2022. The ceremony will be livestreamed on the website, Facebook page and YouTube Channel of The Shaw Prize.

Date: 29 September 2022 (Thursday)
Time: 6:00 pm (GMT 1000)
Format: Live Streaming

The Ceremony will be livestreamed on:

“The Shaw Prize” Website:https://www.shawprize.org
“The Shaw Prize” Facebook Page:https://www.facebook.com/ShawPrize
“The Shaw Prize” YouTube Channel:https://www.youtube.com/user/ShawPrize]

About the Shaw Prize#

The Shaw Prize is an international award to honour individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who are currently active in their respective fields and who have recently achieved distinguished and significant advances, who have made outstanding contributions in academic and scientific research or applications, or who in other domains have achieved excellence. The award is dedicated to furthering societal progress, enhancing quality of life, and enriching humanity's spiritual civilization.

Preference is to be given to individuals whose significant works were recently achieved and who are currently active in their respective fields.

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual awards: the Prize in Astronomy, the Prize in Life Science and Medicine, and the Prize in Mathematical Sciences. Each prize carries a monetary award of one million two hundred thousand US dollars. The nomination process begins in September, the winners are announced in the following summer and the prizes are presented in autumn.

The Shaw Prize, established under the auspices of Mr Run Run Shaw in November 2002, is managed and administered by The Shaw Prize Foundation based in Hong Kong.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-14) was last changed on Friday, 28. October 2022, 09:07 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by