Member News Archive#

Donald Dingwell member of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador

We are pleased to report that professor Don Dingwell, Chair of Class B (exact and Natural Sciences), Academic Director of the AE Knowledge Hub - Munich, has received the highest honour from the Canadian province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

AE Newsletter August 2021

Read the newsletter from the President of Academia Europaea, Professor Sierd Cloetingh.
August 2021.

Shalini Randeria CEU Rector and President

Professor Shalini Randeria, member of the Governance, Institutions and Policies: Education, Health and Welfare section of Academia Europaea, has been elected the 6th Rector and President of Central European University (CEU).

Maria Leptin

Professor Maria Leptin, member of the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology section of Academia Europaea, appointed as the incoming President of the European Research Council.

Karl Fuchs (1932 - 2021)

Professor Dr. Karl Fuchs, distinguished member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section, passed away on 22 March 2021 after a remarkable scientific career.
Read the obituary by Hans Thybo, MAE and Sierd Cloetingh, president of Academia Europaea.

Donald Dingwell elected to the Royal Society

Prof. Donald B. Dingwell, Academia Europaea Vice-President and a member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section of Academia Europaea elected as Fellow of the Royal Society.

Christian Dustmann

Professor Christian Dustmann, member of the Economics, business and management sciences section of Academia Europaea has been awarded the Carl-Friedrich-von-Weizsäcker-Prize 2020.

Pieter Muysken (1950 – 2021)

Professor Pieter Muysken, member of the Linguistics section of Academia Europaea passed away 6 April 2021.

Qiuming Cheng

AAG Gold Medal awarded to Prof. Qiuming Cheng, a member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section of the Academy.

2021 Abel Prize

Academia Europaea are proud to announce the award of the 2021 Abel Prize to the distinguished member Professor László Lovász MAE, the Academic Director of the AE Budapest Knowledge Hub and a member of the Mathematics section of Academia Europaea.

Wolf Prize 2021

2021 Wolf Prize awarded to two members of Academia Europaea, Professor Joan Steitz and Professor Giorgio Parisi.

Paul Crutzen (1933 - 2021)

Professor Paul J. Crutzen, Nobel Prize Laureate for Chemistry 1995, Erasmus Medal winner 1997 and member of the Earth and Cosmic Science section of Academia Europaea passed away 28 January 2021.
Read the commemorative words by Professor Sierd Cloetingh, the President of Academia Europaea.

The Temptation of Homo Europaeus

A new edition of the book by Prof. Victor Neumann, member of the History and archaeology section of the Academy.

Assar Lindbeck (1930 - 2020)

Professor Assar Lindbeck, member of the Economics, Business & Management section of Academia Europaea passed away 28 August 2020.
Read the commemorative words by Prof. Zimmermann, the Chair of the Economics, Business Management section.

Jerzy Langer

Prof. Jerzy Langer elected to President of the Warsaw Scientific Society.

Copley Medal

The Copley Medal 2020 is awarded to Sir Alan Fersht MAE.

Richard Catlow

Professor Richard Catlow, of Cardiff University and University College London and member of the Chemical sciences section has been awarded the prize for his contribution to physical chemistry.

Arkadiusz Wojs

Professor Arkadiusz Wójs, Academic Director of the Academia Europaea Wroclaw Knowledge Hub and member of the Physics and engineering sciences section, was elected Rector of the Wrocław University of Science and Technology.

Leon O. Chua

Leon O. Chua receives the 2020 Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics.

From Research to Public Health Policy

Professor Martin McKee talks about Public Health, his role at the European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies and his latest research on the adverse effects of movement restrictions in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Dieter Grimm

Professor Dieter Grimm, a member of the Law section of Academia Europaea, elected Fellow of the British Academy.

Ineke Sluiter

Ineke Sluiter awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of Bristol.

Order of Canada

Order of Canada awarded to Professor Donald B. Dingwell

Academic Palms

Chevalier in the Order of Academic Palms awarded to Adrian Bejan, a member of the Physics and Engineering Science section of Academia Europaea.

Amélia Polónia

Professor Amélia Polonia, a distinguished member of the History & Archaeology Section Committee, awarded a ''Honoris Causa'' Doctorate.

Sir Michael Berridge (1938-2020)

Sir Michael Berridge, member of the Biochemistry and molecular biology section and one of the early members of Academia Europaea, passed away on 13 February 2020.

Herbert Gleiter

Prof. Herber Gleiter, member of the Physics and Engineering Sciences section, elected Researcher of the Year 2020 by the Advanced Materials Letters.

Barbara Wright (1935 - 2019)

Barbara Wright, former Chair of the Literary and Theatrical section and a member of the Council of Academia Europaea died 14 December 2019.

Gerald Haug

Gerald Haug elected President of the the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.

Michel Che (1941 - 2019)

Michel Che, former Section Chair of the Chemical Sciences section and a member of the Council and the Board of Academia Europaea died 7 August 2019 at the age of 77.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-1) was last changed on Friday, 4. March 2022, 15:13 by AcadAdmin
  • operated by