Member News Archive#

Peter Trudgill

Peter Trudgill, member of the Linguistic studies section awarded Honorary Doctorate from the Universidad de Murcia.

Nina Dethloff

Professor Nina Dethloff appointed Vice-Chair of the German Science and Humanities Council.

Nominations to European Research Council

Members of Academia Europaea are invited to nominate candidates for membership in the Scientific Council of the ERC.

Alexander Vovin (1961–2022)

Professor Alexander Vovin, a prominent member of the Classic and oriental studies section, passed away. Read the obituary by section chair, Prof. Gerd Haverling and the members of the section committee.

2022 L’Oréal-UNESCO for Women in Science International Award

Two members of Academia Europaea, Prof. Katalin Kariko and Prof. Ángela Nieto, were awarded the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science International Award in recognition of the excellence of their research in the fields of life sciences.

Olav Eldholm (1941 - 2022)

Professor Olav Eldholm, Professor Emeritus from the University of Bergen and a distinguished member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section passed away on March 18, 80 years old.
Read the obituary by Prof. Eystein Jansen, the Academic Director of the Academia Europaea Bergen Knowledge Hub.

Arnold Burgen - Centenary birthday

Professor Arnold Burgen, the founder and first President of Academia Europaea celebrates his 100th birthday on 20 March, 2022.

Nomination cycle 2021-2022

Academia Europaea members are invited to submit nominations for membership.
The nomination cycle 2021/2022 has been extended till 31 March 2022.


Deadline for the nomination: 31st March 2022 (midnight GMT).

In Memoriam John Elliott (1930 – 2022)

Sir John Elliott, distinguished member of the History and Archaeology section passed away March 10, 2022. Read the memorial words by Prof. Manuel Lucena Giraldo and Prof. Nikita Harwich.

Interview with Sir David King

Read an interview with Sir David King, member of the Chemical Sciences section and a logstanding advisor to the British goverment about Climate Change.

Benefits of scientific collaboration

Read about scientific collaboration with Ukrainian scholars.

Framework Agreement for continuation of Academia Europaea Knowledge Hub in Wroclaw

The President of Academia Europaea, Professor Sierd Cloetingh and the Mayor of Wrocław, Rafał Dutkiewicz signed the official Framework Agreement for Continuation of Academia Europaea Knowledge Hub in Wrocław.

Ferenc Krausz

Professor Frenc Krausz, member of the Physics and Engineering Sciences secton is awarded the 2022 Wolf Prize in Physics.

Luc Montagnier (1932 - 2022)

Academia Europaea is saddened to announce the death of the 2008 Nobel Prize recipient and member of the Cell and Development Biology section of the Academy since 1988, Professor Luc Montagnier.

AE members continue to serve on the European Group on Ethics

Professors Barbara Prainsack MAE and Nils-Eric Sahlin MAE are reappointed as members of the European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies (EGE).

Karina Lovell

Interview with Professor Karina Lovell, member of the Clinical and Veterinary Science section who shares insights into her career and research in the mental health sector.

Charles-Edouard Levillain

2021 Descartes-Huygens Prize to Prof. Charles-Édouard Levillain, professor of modern British history at the research laboratory on anglophone cultures of the University of Paris-CNRS and a member of the History & Archaeology Section of Academia Europaea.

Interview with Professor Marja Makarow

In her first interview since becoming President of Academia Europaea, Professor Marja Makarow tells us about her leadership roles and sets out some of her priorities for Academia Europaea.

Academy of Athens

Read about the Climate Change related activities at the Academy of Athens.

Thibault Damour

Professor Thibault Damour, member of the Physics and Engineering Sciences section, is awarded the 2021 Balzan Prize.

Kin, People or Nation

Kin, People or Nation? On European Political Identities.
A new publication by Victor Neumann, member of the History and Archaeology section.
The book shows how the variety of connotations associated with the ideas of 'nation' and 'people' have been circumscribed in south-eastern Europe.

A Farewell from the President

Farewell message from the outgoing President of the Academia Europaea, Professor Sierd Cloetingh.

Valedictory Presidential Lecture

Valedictory presidential lecture by Professor Sierd Cloetingh, President of Academia Europaea from 2014 till 2020.

My time as President of Academia Europaea

Professor Sierd Cloetingh reflects on his time as President of Academia Europaea.

Harm Pinkster (1941 - 2021)

The outstanding Latin scholar, Professor Harm Pinkster, a former Council member of Academia Europaea and a member of the section for Classical and Oriental studies since 1989 and its former chair, passed away on December 14th 2021 after a short period of illness.

Siegfried Selberherr

Prof. Siegfried Selberherr, member of the Informatics section of Academia Europaea was elected Fellow of the Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association.

Ravikumar Majeti

Humboldt Research Award to Dr. Ravikumar Majeti, member of the Clinical & Veterinary Science section of Academia Europaea.

Academia Europaea Knowledge Hub at Wrocław Tech

The agreement on the transfer of the Wrocław Hub to the Wrocław University of Science and Technology was signed by Prof. Arkadiusz Wójs, Prof. Sierd Cloetingh, Prof. Marja Makarow, and Jacek Sutryk, Mayor of Wrocław.

Jacques Tits (1930 - 2021)

Jacques Tits, Professor Emeritus from the Collège de France in Paris and a distinguished member of the Mathematics section of Academia Europaea since 1988 passed away December 5, 2021. Prof. Tits was a founding member of Academia Europaea.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-1) was last changed on Friday, 4. March 2022, 15:13 by AcadAdmin
  • operated by