Member News Archive#

Academy of Athens

Read about the Climate Change related activities at the Academy of Athens.

Thibault Damour

Professor Thibault Damour, member of the Physics and Engineering Sciences section, is awarded the 2021 Balzan Prize.

Kin, People or Nation

Kin, People or Nation? On European Political Identities.
A new publication by Victor Neumann, member of the History and Archaeology section.
The book shows how the variety of connotations associated with the ideas of 'nation' and 'people' have been circumscribed in south-eastern Europe.

A Farewell from the President

Farewell message from the outgoing President of the Academia Europaea, Professor Sierd Cloetingh.

Valedictory Presidential Lecture

Valedictory presidential lecture by Professor Sierd Cloetingh, President of Academia Europaea from 2014 till 2020.

Harm Pinkster (1941 - 2021)

The outstanding Latin scholar, Professor Harm Pinkster, a former Council member of Academia Europaea and a member of the section for Classical and Oriental studies since 1989 and its former chair, passed away on December 14th 2021 after a short period of illness.

Siegfried Selberherr

Prof. Siegfried Selberherr, member of the Informatics section of Academia Europaea was elected Fellow of the Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association.

Ravikumar Majeti

Humboldt Research Award to Dr. Ravikumar Majeti, member of the Clinical & Veterinary Science section of Academia Europaea.

Academia Europaea Knowledge Hub at Wrocław Tech

The agreement on the transfer of the Wrocław Hub to the Wrocław University of Science and Technology was signed by Prof. Arkadiusz Wójs, Prof. Sierd Cloetingh, Prof. Marja Makarow, and Jacek Sutryk, Mayor of Wrocław.

Jacques Tits (1930 - 2021)

Jacques Tits, Professor Emeritus from the Collège de France in Paris and a distinguished member of the Mathematics section of Academia Europaea since 1988 passed away December 5, 2021. Prof. Tits was a founding member of Academia Europaea.

Award to Katalin Kariko

Professor Katalin Kariko, member of the Biochemistry and Molecular biology section of Academia Europaea, receives the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research.

Marja Makarow

Professor Marja Makarow appointed to the Board of the new European Innovation Council.

Fighting Over the Bible

A publication by Isaac Kalimi, member of the Philosophy, theology and religious studies section.
The book explores the conflicts between mainstream Jews and their internal and external opponents, especially between particular Jewish groups such as Pharisees, Sadducees, Qumranites, Samaritans, Rabbanites and Karaites, as well as with Christians and Muslims regarding their interpretations of Jewish Scripture.

Miguel Servet Award for Research Excellence

Professor Susana Onega, Professor Emeritus from the University of Zaranoza and a member of the Literary and Theatrical Section of Academia Europaea granted the Miguel Servet Award for Research Excellence.

Gold Medal 2021

Professor Ole Petersen has received the Gold Medal for his contribution to the development of European science at Academia Europaea’s Annual Conference.

Maria Paradiso

Professor Maria Paradiso appointed in the Governing Board of the International
Science Council.

Gold Award

The Gold Award of Academia Europaea will be awarded to Professor Ole Petersen MAE FRS for his contribution to the development of European Science.

Erasmus Medal

The Academia Europaea are pleased to award an Erasmus Medal to Professor Roger Penrose, internationally renowned Mathematician and Physicist and Professor (emeritus) of Mathematics, Oxford University.
The event will take place on Wednesday 20 October, 2021.

Nikolaos Stampolidis

Professor Nikolaos Stampolidis elected as the first Director-General of the Acropolis Museum.

GÖMBÖC piece to Roger Penrose

As a compliment to the award of the 2020 Erasmus medal of the Academia Europaea, Professor Roger Penrose will also receive a unique GÖMBÖC piece.

Nobel Prize to three AE members

Breaking news: Prof. Syukuro Manabe and Prof. Klaus Hasselmann, members of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section and Prof. Giorgio Parisi, member of the Physics and Engineering Sciences section were awarded the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Katalin Karikó announced NIHF Inductee

Prof. Katalin Karikó of Pensylvania University and a member of the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology section of the Academy is among the National Inventors Hall of Fame® (NIHF) 2022 class of Inductees for her invention of Modified mRNA Technology Used in COVID-19 Vaccines.

Stig Strömholm

Stig Strömholm, the third President of Academia Europaea celebrates his 90th birthday.


Professor Benno Werlen has launched an international initiative to highlight the significance of attaining the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) before the 2030 target date.

2021 William Prager Medalist

Professor Gerhard A. Holzapfel, member of the Physics and Engineering Science section of the Academy, was awarded the prestigious William Prager Medal.

Donald Dingwell member of the Order of Newfoundland and Labrador

We are pleased to report that professor Don Dingwell, Chair of Class B (exact and Natural Sciences), Academic Director of the AE Knowledge Hub - Munich, has received the highest honour from the Canadian province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

AE Newsletter August 2021

Read the newsletter from the President of Academia Europaea, Professor Sierd Cloetingh.
August 2021.

Shalini Randeria CEU Rector and President

Professor Shalini Randeria, member of the Governance, Institutions and Policies: Education, Health and Welfare section of Academia Europaea, has been elected the 6th Rector and President of Central European University (CEU).

Maria Leptin

Professor Maria Leptin, member of the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology section of Academia Europaea, appointed as the incoming President of the European Research Council.

Karl Fuchs (1932 - 2021)

Professor Dr. Karl Fuchs, distinguished member of the Earth and Cosmic Sciences section, passed away on 22 March 2021 after a remarkable scientific career.
Read the obituary by Hans Thybo, MAE and Sierd Cloetingh, president of Academia Europaea.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-1) was last changed on Friday, 4. March 2022, 15:13 by AcadAdmin
  • operated by