David Baulcombe#

David Baulcombe
Membership Number:2159
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:UNITED KINGDOM

Present and Previous Positions

  • Sep. 2007-2022 University of Cambridge, Cambridge UK; Regius Professor of Botany (2007 – present), Royal Society Edward Penley Abraham Research Professor (2007-2022) and Head of the Department of Plant Sciences (2009 - 2017)
  • Aug.1988-Aug. 2007 Sainsbury Laboratory, Norwich, UK; Senior Research Scientist and Head of Laboratory (from 1990-1993 and 1999-2003), Professor of University of East Anglia (2002-7)
  • Dec. 1980-Aug.1988 Plant Breeding Institute, Cambridge, UK; Higher and Principal Scientific Officer
  • Dec. 1978-Dec. 1980 University of Georgia, Athens, GA; Post-doctoral Fellow
  • Jan. 1977- Nov. 1978 McGill University, Montreal, Canada; Post-doctoral Fellow

Fields of Scholarship
  • Discovery of a novel type regulatory RNA - siRNA

Honours and Awards
  • 2017 Mendel Medal Genetics Society
  • 2015 DSc (Hon) University of Leeds
  • Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (elected 2015)
  • 2015 Prize Medal Lecture, Society for General Microbiology
  • (Jan 2015 – December 2017) President Biochemical Society
  • 2014 Honorary Doctorate, Universities of Helsinki, Edinburgh (DSc) and Dundee (DL)
  • 2014 Gruber Genetics Prize, Gruber Foundation USA (shared with Ambros and Ruvkun)
  • 2014 The McClintock Prize for Plant Genetics and Genome Studies, Maize Genetics Executive Committee
  • 2013 Corresponding Member, Royal Academy of Arts and Sciences Barcelona
  • 2012 Balzan Prize for epigenetics, Balzan Foundation, Rome
  • 2011 Foreign Fellow, National Academy of Science, India
  • 2011 DSc (Hon), University of East Anglia; University of Birmingham
  • Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences (elected 2010)
  • 2010 Wolf Prize in Agriculture, Wolf Foundation Israel
  • 2009 Harvey Prize in Science and Technology, Technion Israel Institute of Technology
  • Knight Bachelor, (Queens Birthday Honours list 2009)
  • Fellow, Trinity College Cambridge (elected 2009)
  • 2008 Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research, Lasker Foundation (shared with Ambros and Ruvkun)
  • 2008 Honorary Doctorate, Wageningen University, The Netherlands
  • 2008 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Life Science, Franklin Institute, Philadelphia (joint with Ambros and Ruvkun)
  • 2008 Special Achievement Award, Miami Winter Symposium
  • 2006 Royal Medal, The Royal Society
  • 2005 Massry Prize, Massry Foundation – University of Southern California (shared with Fire and Mello)
  • Foreign Associate Member of the National Academy of Sciences (USA) (elected 2005)
  • 2004 M.W. Beijerinck Virology Prize, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 2003 Wiley Prize in Biomedical Science, Wiley Foundation – Rockefeller University, shared with Fire, Mello and Tuschl)
  • Academia Europaea, Member (elected 2002)
  • 2002 Ruth Allen Award, American Phytopathology Society
  • 2002 Kumho Science International Award in Plant Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, Kumho Cultural Foundation, Korea
  • Fellow of the Royal Society (elected 2001)
  • 2003 - 2004 President International Society of Plant Molecular Biology
  • 1998-2002 Honorary Professor, University of East Anglia
  • European Molecular Biology Organisation, Member (elected 1997)
  • 1990 Prix des Cerealiers de France for work on hormonally regulated genes of cereals

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-26) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by