Diter von Wettstein#

Diter von Wettstein
Sadly, this member passed away.
Membership Number:51
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:UNITED STATES

Diter von Wettstein passed away April 13, 2017.

Positions Held
  • since 1996 R.A. Nilan Distinguished Professor at Dept. of Crop and Soil Sciences & School of Molecular Biosciences, Washington State University
  • 1972 - 1996 Professor and Head, Department of Physiology, Carlsberg Laboratory, Copenhagen
  • 1975 - 1988 Director Carlsberg Plant Breeding
  • 1962 - 1975 Professor and Head Institute of Genetics, University of Copenhagen
  • 1966, 1972, 1974 Visiting Professor at the University of California, Davis, CA
  • 1969 Visiting Professor at Washington State University
  • 1958 Rockefeller fellow, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena & Carnegie Institution of Washington, Cold Spring Harbor & Stanford
  • 1957 Assistant professor in Genetics at Stockholm University

Fields of Scholarship
  • Chromosome pairing, mechanism of crossing-over and genome analysis
  • Biosynthesis of the photosynthetic membrane and chloroplast biogenesis
  • Biotechnology of barley and wheat improvement
  • Development of wheat compatible with celiac patients
  • Epigenetics designer Transcription Activator-Like Effectors
  • Development of proanthocyanidin-free barley (metabolic engineering)
  • Molecular genetics of stem rust and herbicide resistance in barley

Honours and Awards
  • Foreign Associate of the National Academy of Sciences USA
  • Member of
    • Royal Danish Academy of Sciences
    • Royal Physiographical Society, Lund
    • European Molecular Biology Organization
    • Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina
    • Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
    • Academy of Technical Sciences, Copenhagen
    • Academia Europaea, Académie Royale des Sciences de Belgique
    • Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften
    • Nordrhein-Westfälische Akad.d.Wissensch
    • Washington State Academy of Sciences
  • Honorary Member Swedish Seed Association, Svalöf
  • Lillö-Stiftelsens Prize for Genetic Research
  • Gregor Mendel Medal & Kurt Mothes Gold Medal, Leopoldina
  • Rebeiz Life Time Achievement Award
  • Dr.agro.h.c. Copenhagen

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-9) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by