Greet Van Den Berghe#

Greet Van Den Berghe
Membership Number:4061
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:BELGIUM

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2005 - 2012: Chair of the Department of Acute Medical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, KU Leuven, BE
  • 2002 - today: Head of the Department and Laboratory of Intensive Care Medicine, UZ Leuven, BE
  • 1999 - today: Member of the Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine, BE
  • 1995 - today: Professor of Medicine, KU Leuven, BE
  • 1995 - 2004: Clinical Research Investigator for the Belgian Fund for Scientific Research (3x3 years)

Fields of Scholarship
  • Translational research
  • Clinical research
  • Critical illness
  • Metabolic response to stress
  • Endocrine response to stress
  • Mitochondria
  • Autophagy
  • Epigenetics

Honours and Awards
  • 2011-today: Elected Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh
  • 2010-today: Elected ESPEN Faculty member
  • 2008-today: Panel Member for the ERC Starting Grant evaluation (for subsection “Consolidators”)
  • 2005-today: Faculty of 1000 Medicine : Critical Care - Section Head : “Metabolic Disorders”
  • Belgian Society of Internal Medicine – “Best article of 2013”. “Reduced cortisol metabolism during critical illness.” Boonen E, Vervenne H, Meersseman P, Andrew R, Mortier L, Declercq P, Van Wijngaerden Y, Spriet I, Wouters P, Vander Perre S, Langouche L, Vanhorebeek I, Walker B, Van den Berghe G. N Engl J Med 2013; 368: 1477-1488
  • Elected Member of the German National Academy of Sciences – Leopoldina (2013).
  • Elected Honorary member by the Executive Committee of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (2013).
  • Special European Thyroid Association Honorary Lecture 2013, ETA congress, Leiden, The Netherlands, September 10, 2013. “Non-thyroidal illness: a syndrome with different faces” Van den Berghe G.
  • ERC advanced grant (AdvG – 2012 – 321670) van het “Ideas Program” of the EU FP7.
  • 11th David Murdock-Dole Lectureship Award Awarded jointly by the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, US and the Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden. October 2, 2009, Stockholm, Sweden.
  • Stoutenbeek Award for the best protocol of a clinical investigation in intensive care medicine. 2009 “Impact of early parenteral nutrition complementing enteral nutrition in critically ill patients” (EPaNIC) Casaer M, Hermans G, Wilmer A, and Van den Berghe G.
  • Methusalem Grantee from the Flemish Government [METH08/07 (2008-2015) & METH14/06 (2015-2022)(
  • The Menarini Award for Diabetology 2003, Brussels, Belgium, October 23, 2003. “Saving lives with insulin in the ICU”.
  • Förderpreis Intensivmedizin München/Münster 2002 for the paper “Van den Berghe G, Wouters P, Weekers F, Verwaest C, Bruyninckx F, Schetz M, Vlasselaers D, Ferdinande P, Lauwers P, Bouillon R. 2001 Intensive insulin therapy in critically ill patients New England Journal of Medicine 345:1359-1367”.
  • The 2001 HypoCCS award for ‘Clinical research in the field of hypothalamus-pituitary diseases and their impact on peripheral receptive tissues or organs’, Antwerp, Belgium, March 24, 2001.
  • The European Neuroendocrine Association (ENEA) Young Investigator Award 1999, Odense, Denmark, September 1999.
  • American Endocrine Society Award: ‘The Pharmacia & Upjohn Honorable Mention for Excellence in Published Clinical Research in JCE&M’ -- presented at ENDO 99, San Diego USA, June 14, 1999. “Van den Berghe G, de Zegher F, Baxter RC, Veldhuis JD, Wouters P, Schetz M, Verwaest C, Van der Vorst E, Lauwers P, Bouillon R, Bowers CY. 1998 Neuroendocrinology of prolonged critical illness: effect of exogenous thyrotropin-releasing hormone and its combination with growth hormone-secretagogues. Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism 83: 309-319”.
  • Belgian Endocrine Society Lecture Award 1998, Brussels, Belgium, November 1998 “Acute and prolonged critical illness as different neuroendocrine paradigms”.
  • The G. Zambon Award for Pharmacology 1997-1998, Brussels, Belgium, May 27, 1998. “Acute and prolonged critical illness are two different neuroendocrine paradigms”.
  • SIZ 1996 Award of the Belgian Society of Intensive Care Medicine. “Anterior pituitary function during critical illness and dopamine treatment”.
  • Prize Dr. Karel Verleysen for Human Medicine 1992-1995 Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine, Brussels, 1996. “A senescent pattern of pituitary function during critical illness and dopamine treatment”.
  • Young Investigator Award at the ‘5th Meeting of the Belgian Endocrine and Metabolic Societies’, Leuven, Belgium, November 18, 1995. “Dopamine induced hypopituitarism in critical illness”.
  • American Society of Critical Care Medicine ‘Internal Medicine Specialty Award 1995’ at the ‘24th Educational and Scientific Symposium of the American Society of Critical Care Medicine’, San Francisco, USA, Jan 31-Feb 4, 1995. “Dopamine and the euthyroid sick syndrome in critical illness”.
  • Förderpreis Intensivmedizin München/Münster 1994 April 27, 1994. "Dopamine and the euthyroid sick syndrome in critical illness".

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-7) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by