S. Ravi P. Silva#

S. Ravi P. Silva
Membership Number:6713
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:UNITED KINGDOM

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2023 - present International Science Partnership Fund (ISPF), Royal Society Panel and Royal Academy Engineering Panel, UK
  • 2022 - present Chair, Transforming Systems through Partnership (TSP), Royal Academy Engineering
  • 2019 - present Distinguished Professor, University of Surrey, Guildford, UK
  • 2018 - 2024 International Committee Member, Royal Academy of Engineering, UK
  • 2018 - present Chief Editor, Wiley journal on ‘Energy and Environmental Materials’
  • 2018 - present International Scientific Council, FCT and Advisory Board, CICECO, Aveiro Institute of Materials, Portugal
  • 2017 - 2023 European Research Council (ERC), Advanced Investigator Fellowship Panel, Brussels
  • 2005 - present Director, Advanced Technology Institute and Nano-Electronics Centre, University of Surrey, Guildford, UK
  • 2001 - present Professor of Solid-State Electronics, University of Surrey, Guildford, UK
  • 1995 - 2001 Lecturer and Reader (1999), University of Surrey, Guildford, UK

Fields of Scholarship
  • Engineering science
  • Nanoelectronics
  • Solar cells
  • Nanotechnology
  • Electronic engineering
  • Engineering science
  • Thin film coatings
  • Carbon materials
  • Applied physics
  • Materials science
  • Energy materials

Honours and Awards
  • 2024 Foreign Academician, Chinese Academy of Engineering, China (FNAE)
  • 2024 Fellow, International Science Council (FISC)
  • 2022 Distinguished Fellow, The International Engineering and Technology Institute - IETI (DIETI)
  • 2020 Commander of the British Empire (CBE) by Her Majesty the Queen in the New Year Honours list (CBE)
  • 2018 James Joule Medal and Award (Institute of Physics) for contributions to Applied and Environment Sciences, UK
  • 2015 Platinum Medal of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, UK
  • 2014 Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET), JJ Thomson Medal for contributions to Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • 2013 President’s Award, The Government of Sri Lanka, For contributions to Sri Lanka Science and Society, Sri Lanka
  • 2013 Distinguished Professor, Chonbuk National University, South Korea
  • 2011 Royal Society Clifford Paterson Lecture for outstanding contributions to Nanoscience, Royal Society, UK
  • 2009 Royal Society Kan Tong Po Public lecture and Visiting Professorship to Hong Kong.
  • 2009 Elected to a Fellowship, National Academy of Sciences of Sri Lanka (FNASSL)
  • 2008 Elected to the Fellowship, Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng).
  • 2007 Elected to a Fellowship, the Royal Society of Arts (FRSA).
  • 2002 Vernon-Charles Boys Medal and Prize for 2002 for Experimental Physics, Institute of Physics, United Kingdom.
  • 2002 Monbusho-Gakusin Senior Fellowship Ministry of Education, Japan and Special Visiting Professorship, Gifu University.
  • 2003 Institute of Electrical Engineers (IEE) ‘Achievement Award and Medal for 2003’.
  • 2003 UNESCO Albert Einstein Silver Medal and Young Scientist Award for ‘Electronic devices and Materials on international scale’.
  • 1999 Outstanding Young Researcher Award, IUMRS, China (June 1999).
  • 1990 Cambridge Commonwealth Trust (Elected Fellow 1991)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-10) was last changed on Friday, 19. April 2024, 11:12 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by