Andrzej Jajszczyk#

Andrzej Jajszczyk
Membership Number:4495
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:POLAND

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2017 Member of the ERC Scientific Council
  • 2015 Polish Academy of Sciences, Krakow Branch (President)
  • 2011 - 2015 National Science Centre (Polish research funding agency), Krakow, Poland (founding Director)
  • 2006 - 2007 and starting from 2016 IEEE Communications Society, Director of the Europe, Middle East & Africa Region
  • 1999 AGH University of Science and Technology, Krakow, Poland (Professor)
  • 1998 - 1999 Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications de Bretagne, Rennes, France (Visiting Scientist)
  • 1993 - 1996 EFP — The Franco-Polish School of New Information and Communication Technologies, Poznan, Poland (Professor)
  • 1991 - 1993 Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada (Visiting Scientist)
  • 1989 - 1990 The University of Adelaide, Adelaide, Australia (Visiting Scientist)
  • 1974 - 1992 Institute of Electronics & Communications, Poznan University of Technology, Poznan, Poland (Professor)

Fields of Scholarship
  • Theory and practice of telecommunications switching, including photonic switching
  • Reliability and survivability assurance in telecommunication networks
  • Automatic control plane for optical networks
  • Quality of service for IP-based networks; flow-aware networking

Honours and Awards
  • 2017 Appointed Member of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council (ERC)
  • 2017 IEEE Communications Society, 2017 Distinguished Technical Achievement Award. In recognition of outstanding technical contributions and services in the area of communications switching and routing.
  • 2013 Member of the Polish Academy of Sciences
  • 2012 Krakow Allianz Prize 2011 “Culture Science Media”
  • 2011 Leader of Polish Teleinformatics – Gold Cyborg. For the outstanding contribution in the research on the development of next generation optical networks
  • 2011 Janusz Groszkowski Medal. No. 426. Association of Polish Electrical Engineers
  • 2008 Foundation for Polish Science (FNP) Prize for research in the area of the theory of high-speed switching networks for the Next Generation Internet
  • 2008 IEEE Communications Society Joseph LoCicero Award for Exemplary Service to Publications
  • 2008 Siemens Award, for Research on Next Generation Telecommunications Networks and Systems
  • 2000 Award for Achievements in Telecommunications, International Telecommunications Day
  • 1999 IEEE Fellowship, for contributions to the theory and practice of telecommunications switching
  • 1987 The Copernicus Award for Outstanding Achievements in Creative Work
  • 1980, 1984, 1987, 1994, 1996 Awards of the Ministry of Science, Higher Education and Technology for Achievements in Research.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-7) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by System
  • operated by