Herbert Gleiter#

Herbert Gleiter
Email:herbert.gleiter 'at' kit.edu
Membership Number:3846
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GERMANY
Homepage: http://www.int.kit.edu/leadership

Present and Previous Positions
  • Since 2012 Director and Chair Professor of the Herbert Gleiter Institute of Nanoscience of Nanjing University of Science and Technology, Nanjing, P.R.China
  • Since 2006 Institute Professor and Distinguished Fellow of the Institute of Nanotechnology, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
  • 2004 - 2007 Kuang-pui Chair Professor, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, PR China
  • 1998 - 2004 Director of the Institute of Nanotechnology, Research Center Karlsruhe, Germany
  • 1994 - 1998 Member of the Executive Board of the Research Center Karlsruhe, Germany
  • 1987 - 1994 Founding Director of the Institute of New Materials, Saarbruecken, Germany
  • 1973 - 1994 Professor/Director of the Institute of Material Science, University of the Saarland, Germany
  • 1972 Professor, Institute of Materials Science, University Bochum, Germany
  • 1971 Visiting Sientist of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA
  • 1966 - 1969 Research Fellow at Harvard University Cambridge, USA

Fields of Scholarship
  • Mechanical properties of materials
  • Atomic structure and properties of inter-crystalline interfaces
  • Nano-crystalline materials
  • Limits of Quantum Physics
  • New kinds of non-crystalline solids: Nano-glasses
  • Polymer physics
  • Thermal stability of crystals

Honours and Awards
  • 2017 Member of the US National Academy of Inventors
  • Award of the "Medal of Friendship-Order of Merit" by the Government of China, Jiangsu Province. This order was awarded (for the first time to a citizen from abroad) for the foundation - in 2011 - and the successful start of the "Herbert Gleiter Institute of Nanoscience" at Nanjing
  • 2016 Election to the rank of Fellow of the US National Academy of Inventors (NAI)
  • 2015 Honorary Doctor Degree in Physics of the City University of Hong Kong
  • 2015 Corthenius Medal (the highest award of German National Academy of Sciences)
  • 2015 Election to the Global Academy of Engineering
  • 2012 Edward DeMille Campbell Award, American Society for Metals (ASM)
  • 2009 Blaise Pascal Medal of the European Academy of Sciences, Belgium
  • 2008 Von Hippel Award of the Materials Research Society, USA
  • 2002 Honorary Doctorates of the Universities of Darmstadt, Muenster , ETH Zuerch,, Lanzhou and Zheijing University Hangzhou
  • 1999 Werner Heisenberg and Humboldt Medals of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany
  • 1998 Heyn Medal of the German Society for Materials Science
  • 1998 - 2014 Elected as a Member of 7 National Academies
  • 1995 Gold Medals of the Federation of European Material Societies (FEMS), Belgium and of Acta Materialia
  • 1993 Max-Planck-Research Prize of the Humboldt Foundation and the Max Planck-Society, Germany
  • 1988 Leibniz Prize of the German National Science Foundation (DFG)
  • 1972 Masing Prize of the German Society for Metals

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-17) was last updated on Tuesday, 23. January 2018, 12:07 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by