Harindra J. Fernando#

Harinda J. Fernando
Membership Number:2643
Membership type:FOREIGN
Main Country of Residence:UNITED STATES

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2010 Wayne and Diana Murdy Professor, Department of Civil Engineering and Geological Sciences, University of Notre Dame
  • 1994-2009 Director, Center for Environmental Fluid Dynamics (EFD), Arizona State University (1994-2007 – EFD Program; 2008 - Arizona Board of Regents’ Center)
  • 1992 Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Arizona State University (2009 – Affiliate Professor, School of Sustainability)
  • 1988-1992 Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Arizona State University
  • 1984-1988 Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Arizona State University
  • 1983-1984 Post-Doctoral Fellow, Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences, California Institute of Technology
  • 1983 April - September Post-Doctoral Fellow, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, The Johns Hopkins University
  • 1983 PhD, Fluid Mechanics, The Johns Hopkins University

Fields of Scholarship
  • Fluid mechanics: turbulence in homogeneous, stratified and rotating flows
  • Double-diffusive phenomena
  • Multiphase flows
  • Oceanic flows
  • Industrial fluid mechanics
  • Urban air pollution
  • Sustainability engineering

Honours and Awards
  • 1979 UNESCO Gold Medal for the best engineering student of the year
  • 1980 Australian-Colombo Plan Scholarship
  • 1980 British Commonwealth Scholarship
  • 1980 Colombo Rotary Club award for the productive public servant of the year
  • 1980 East-West Center Award (University of Hawaii)
  • 1980 UNESCO Graduate Fellowship
  • 1980 Westland Helicopters External Research Assistantship
  • 1980-83 Gilman Fellowship (The Johns Hopkins University)
  • 1987 Presidential Young Investigator Award (National Science Foundation)
  • 1987, 1988, 1989 American Western Universities Faculty Participation Award (Department of Energy/Solar Energy Research Institute)
  • 1991 Overseas Fellow - Churchill College, Cambridge, UK
  • 1993- Listed in Who's Who in Science and Engineering; Who’s Who in American Education; American Men and Women in Science; Who’s Who in the World; International Directory of Biographies; Who’s Who in Engineering Education; The Contemporary Who’s Who
  • 1997 ASU Alumni Faculty Achievement Award for Research
  • 1997 “Appreciation Certificate” from the Western Alliance to Expand Student Opportunities (WAESO)
  • 2001 Rieger Foundation Award for the “Third Distinguished Rieger Scholar in Environmental Sciences”
  • 2002 Elected Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers
  • 2003 ASU Graduate College – Faculty Mentorship Appreciation Award
  • 2004 William Mong Distinguished Lectureship, Hong Kong University
  • 2004 Elected Fellow, American Physical Society
  • 2007 Award of Excellence for Science and Research, Alumni Association, St. Sebastian’s College (75th Jubilee Award).
  • 2007 Sri Lanka Foundation of USA, Lifetime Achievement Award
  • 2007 Featured in an article in the New York Times (25th December)
  • 2008 Recognized for “Outstanding Environmental Achievements” in the IEA/CMTA/CICC Conference awards (for Air Quality).
  • 2008 Tempe Five Who Matter - honored by Arizona Republic Newspaper at the yearend as one of the five Tempe residents who have made a notable difference in the life of the city
  • 2009 Elected to Academia Europaea (The Academy of Europe)
  • 2009 Elected Fellow, American Meteorological Society
  • 2014 Doctor Honoris Causa by the Universite Joseph Fourier (University of Grenoble, France)
  • 2016 Doctor of Laws, Honoris Causa by the University of Dundee

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-13) was last changed on Monday, 15. January 2024, 09:25 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by