!!!Harindra J. Fernando
[{Image src='fernando_harindra.jpg'  alt='Harinda J. Fernando' height='200' }]

\\ \\
__Present and Previous Positions__
*2010 Wayne and Diana Murdy Professor, Department of Civil Engineering and Geological Sciences, University of Notre Dame
*1994-2009	Director, Center for Environmental Fluid Dynamics (EFD), Arizona State University (1994-2007 – EFD Program; 2008 - Arizona Board of Regents’ Center)
*1992	Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Arizona State University (2009 – Affiliate Professor, School of Sustainability)
*1988-1992	Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Arizona State University
*1984-1988	Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Arizona State University
*1983-1984 	Post-Doctoral Fellow, Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences, California Institute of Technology
*1983 April - September	Post-Doctoral Fellow, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, The Johns Hopkins University
*1983	PhD, Fluid Mechanics, The Johns Hopkins University
__Fields of Scholarship__
__Honours and Awards__
*1979	UNESCO Gold Medal for the best engineering student of the year
*	1980	Australian-Colombo Plan Scholarship
*	1980	British Commonwealth Scholarship
*	1980	Colombo Rotary Club award for the productive public servant of the year
*	1980	East-West Center Award (University of Hawaii)
*	1980	UNESCO Graduate Fellowship
*	1980	Westland Helicopters External Research Assistantship
*	1980-83	Gilman Fellowship (The Johns Hopkins University)
*	1987	Presidential Young Investigator Award (National Science Foundation)
*1987, 1988, 1989	American Western Universities Faculty Participation Award (Department of Energy/Solar Energy Research Institute)
*	1991			Overseas Fellow - Churchill College, Cambridge, UK
*	1993-	Listed in Who's Who in Science and Engineering; Who’s Who in American Education; American Men and Women in Science; Who’s Who in the World; International Directory of Biographies; Who’s Who in Engineering Education; The Contemporary Who’s Who
*1997	ASU Alumni Faculty Achievement Award for Research
*1997	“Appreciation Certificate” from the Western Alliance to Expand Student Opportunities (WAESO)
*2001	Rieger Foundation Award for the “Third Distinguished Rieger Scholar in Environmental Sciences”
*2002	 			Elected Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers
*2003				ASU Graduate College – Faculty Mentorship Appreciation Award
*2004				William Mong Distinguished Lectureship, Hong Kong University
*2004			Elected Fellow, American Physical Society
*2007	Award of Excellence for Science and Research, Alumni Association, St. Sebastian’s College (75th Jubilee Award).
*2007			Sri Lanka Foundation of USA, Lifetime Achievement Award
*2007			Featured in an article in the New York Times (25th December)
*2008	Recognized for “Outstanding Environmental Achievements” in the IEA/CMTA/CICC Conference awards (for Air Quality).
*2008	Tempe Five Who Matter - honored by Arizona Republic Newspaper at the yearend as one of the five Tempe residents who have made a notable difference in the life of the city
*2009	Elected to Academia Europaea (The Academy of Europe)
*2009	Elected Fellow, American Meteorological Society
*2014 Doctor Honoris Causa by the Universite Joseph Fourier (University of Grenoble, France)
*2016 Doctor of Laws, Honoris Causa by the University of Dundee
\\ \\


[{Image src='User/paper_content_pencil_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Curriculum Vitae |User/Fernando_Harinda/CV]
[{Image src='User/book_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Publication list|User/Fernando_Harinda/Publications]
[{Image src='User/camera_noflash_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Highlights of my work and anecdotes|User/Fernando_Harinda/Highlight]
[{Image src='User/database_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Other information|User/Fernando_Harinda/OtherInformation]

[{ALLOW view All}]
[{ALLOW edit hfernando}]
[{ALLOW upload hfernando}]

[{ALLOW comment All}]