Ben L. Feringa#

Ben L. Feringa
Membership Number:2853
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:THE NETHERLANDS

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2011 - present Hans Fischer Honorary Fellow, Institute for Advanced Studies, TU Muenchen
  • 2008 - present Academy Professor; Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
  • 2003 - present Jacobus H. van 't Hoff Distinguished Professor of Molecular Sciences
  • 2003 - 2011 Director Stratingh Institute for Chemistry
  • 1991 - 1995 Chairman Department Organic and Molecular Inorganic Chemistry
  • 1988 - present Appointed successor of Prof. Dr. H. Wynberg; chair of Organic Chemistry, Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Groningen
  • 1984-1988 Lecturer Organic Chemistry, University of Groningen
  • 1983-1984 Project Leader Homogeneous Catalysis, Shell Research Laboratories, Amsterdam
  • 1982-1983 Research Chemist (Bioorganic Chemistry), Shell Biosciences Laboratories, Sittingbourne, UK
  • 1979-1982 Lecturer Amsterdam (Hogere Analistenschool)
  • 1978-1982 Research Chemist (organic synthesis, oxidation processes, photochemistry), Royal Dutch Shell, Shell Laboratories, Amsterdam
  • 1969 - 1978 Undergraduate and graduate studies in chemistry, University of Groningen, PhD at Department of Organic Chemistry, University of Groningen, Thesis: Asymmetric Oxidations of Phenols; supervisor Prof. Dr. Hans Wynberg

Fields of Scholarship
  • Photochemistry
  • Molecular nanotechnology
  • Materials Science
  • Homogenous catalysis
  • Organic Chemistry

Honours and Awards
  • 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry (jointly awarded jointly with Jean-Pierre Sauvage and Sir J. Fraser Stoddart "for the design and synthesis of molecular machines"
  • 2016 Tetrahedron Prize
  • 2016 August Wilhelm von Hofmann Denkmünze, GDCh
  • 2015 Chemistry for the Future Solvay Prize, Brussels, Belgium
  • 2015 Arthur C. Cope Late Career Scholars Award, American Chemical Society, USA
  • Netherlands Chemistry and Catalysis Award 2015, NL
  • 2015 Diels-Planck Award Lecture, Kiel, Germany
  • 2014 IOCF Yoshida Lectureship Award, Kyoto, Osaka, Japan
  • 2014 Theodor Förster Award, German Chemical Society (GDCh) & Bunsen-Society for Physical Chemistry, Germany
  • 2013 Nagoya Gold Medal for significant contributions to the field of chemistry, Nagoya, Japan
  • Yamada-Koga Prize for research with world-wide impact in the field of synthesis of optically active compounds, Tokyo, Japan
  • 2013 Marie Sklodowska-Curie Medal, Highest distinction of Polish Chemical Society, Poland
  • 2013 Lilly European Distinguished Science Award
  • 2013 RSC Award for distinguished service, Royal Society of Chemistry, UK
  • 2013 Co-recipient Netherlands Ministry of Science & Education/NWO gravity program grant (with E.W. Meijer, R. Nolte), 26 MEuro
  • 2012 Grand Prix Scientifique Cino del Duca, French Academy of Sciences, France
  • 2012 Humboldt award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany
  • RSC Organic Stereochemistry Award 2011, Royal Society of Chemistry, UK
  • 2012 Tetrahedron Chair at BOSS symposium, Belgium
  • 2011 Elected Vice-president of KNAW, Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
  • 2011 Van ‘t Hoff medal, Genootschap ter Bevordering van de Natuur-, Genees-, en Heelkunde
  • 2010 Elected member of the Academia Europeae
  • 2009 Chirality Medal, for distinguished contributions to all aspects of chirality
  • 2009 Elected President of Bürgenstock Conference, Switzerland
  • 2008 Recipient of the Paracelcus Award of the Swiss Chemical Society, for life-time achievement in chemistry
  • Elected member of the Netherlands Academy for Technology and Innovation
  • Recipient top-research grant ERC, European Research Council
  • 2008 Knighted by Her Majesty the Queen of the Netherlands
  • 2008 Appointed Academy Professor, Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
  • 2007 James Flack Norris Award in Physical Organic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society, USA
  • 2006 Elected Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
  • Prelog Gold Medal 2005 (ETH-Zürich), Switzerland
  • Solvias Ligand Contest Award (shared with J. Hartwig, Yale University (USA)
  • Spinoza Award 2004 (highest Netherlands scientific award, 1.5 MEuro; see
  • 2004 Elected Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Jacobus H. van‘t Hoff Distinguished Chair in Molecular Sciences, University of Groningen
  • 2003 Körber European Science Award for research on molecular motors
  • 2003 Guthikonda Award, Columbia University, USA
  • Novartis Chemistry Lectureship Award 2000-2001 (in recognition of outstanding contributions to natural product synthesis and the development of new synthetic methodology; Switzerland, Austria, UK, USA)
  • 1998 Elected Fellow of RSC, UK
  • JSPS Fellowship award and JSPS Lectureship Japan
  • 1997 Recipient Pino Gold Medal Italian Chemical Society

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-8) was last changed on Wednesday, 31. January 2024, 19:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by