!!!Ben L. Feringa
[{Image src='Feringa_Ben.jpg'  alt='Ben L. Feringa' height='200'}]
\\ \\
\\ \\
__Present and Previous Positions__
*2011 - present Hans Fischer Honorary Fellow, Institute for Advanced Studies, TU Muenchen
*2008 - present Academy Professor; Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
*2003 -	present Jacobus H. van 't Hoff Distinguished Professor of Molecular Sciences
*2003 - 2011 Director Stratingh Institute for Chemistry
*1991 - 1995 Chairman Department Organic and Molecular Inorganic Chemistry
*1988 -	present Appointed successor of Prof. Dr. H. Wynberg; chair of Organic Chemistry, Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Groningen
*1984-1988 Lecturer Organic Chemistry, University of Groningen
*1983-1984 Project Leader Homogeneous Catalysis, Shell Research Laboratories, Amsterdam
*1982-1983 Research Chemist (Bioorganic Chemistry), Shell Biosciences Laboratories, Sittingbourne, UK
*1979-1982 Lecturer Amsterdam (Hogere Analistenschool)
*1978-1982 Research Chemist (organic synthesis, oxidation processes, photochemistry), Royal Dutch Shell, Shell Laboratories, Amsterdam
*1969 - 1978 Undergraduate and graduate studies in chemistry, University of Groningen, PhD at Department of Organic Chemistry, University of Groningen, Thesis: Asymmetric Oxidations of Phenols; supervisor Prof. Dr. Hans Wynberg
__Fields of Scholarship__
__Honours and Awards__
*2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry (jointly awarded jointly with Jean-Pierre Sauvage and Sir J. Fraser Stoddart "''for the design and synthesis of molecular machines''"
*2016 Tetrahedron Prize
*2016 August Wilhelm von Hofmann Denkmünze, GDCh
*2015 Chemistry for the Future Solvay Prize, Brussels, Belgium 
*2015 Arthur C. Cope Late Career Scholars Award, American Chemical Society, USA
*Netherlands Chemistry and Catalysis Award 2015, NL
*2015 Diels-Planck Award Lecture, Kiel, Germany
*2014 IOCF Yoshida Lectureship Award, Kyoto, Osaka, Japan
*2014 Theodor Förster Award, German Chemical Society (GDCh) & Bunsen-Society for Physical Chemistry, Germany
*2013 Nagoya Gold Medal for significant contributions to the field of chemistry, Nagoya, Japan
*Yamada-Koga Prize for research with world-wide impact in the field of synthesis of optically active compounds, Tokyo, Japan
*2013 Marie Sklodowska-Curie Medal, Highest distinction of Polish Chemical Society, Poland
*2013 Lilly European Distinguished Science Award
*2013 RSC Award for distinguished service, Royal Society of Chemistry, UK
*2013 Co-recipient Netherlands Ministry of Science & Education/NWO gravity program grant (with E.W. Meijer, R. Nolte), 26 MEuro
*2012 Grand Prix Scientifique Cino del Duca, French Academy of Sciences, France
*2012 Humboldt award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany
*RSC Organic Stereochemistry Award 2011, Royal Society of Chemistry, UK
*2012 Tetrahedron Chair at BOSS symposium, Belgium
*2011 Elected Vice-president of KNAW, Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
*2011 Van ‘t Hoff medal, Genootschap ter Bevordering van de Natuur-, Genees-, en Heelkunde
*2010 Elected member of the Academia Europeae 
*2009 Chirality Medal, for distinguished contributions to all aspects of chirality
*2009 Elected President of Bürgenstock Conference, Switzerland
*2008 Recipient of the Paracelcus Award of the Swiss Chemical Society, for life-time achievement in chemistry
*Elected member of the Netherlands Academy for Technology and Innovation
*Recipient top-research grant ERC, European Research Council
*2008 Knighted by Her Majesty the Queen of the Netherlands
*2008 Appointed Academy Professor, Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
*2007 James Flack Norris Award in Physical Organic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society, USA
*2006 Elected Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences
*Prelog Gold Medal 2005 (ETH-Zürich), Switzerland
*Solvias Ligand Contest Award (shared with J. Hartwig, Yale University (USA)
*Spinoza Award 2004 (highest Netherlands scientific award, 1.5 MEuro; see [http://www.nwo.nl/nwohome.nsf/pages/NWOP_5ZKCWV_Eng])
*2004 Elected Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
*Jacobus H. van‘t Hoff Distinguished Chair in Molecular Sciences, University of Groningen
*2003 Körber European Science Award for research on molecular motors
*2003 Guthikonda Award, Columbia University, USA
*Novartis Chemistry Lectureship Award 2000-2001 (in recognition of outstanding contributions to natural product synthesis and the development of new synthetic methodology; Switzerland, Austria, UK, USA)
*1998 Elected Fellow of RSC, UK
*JSPS Fellowship award and JSPS Lectureship Japan
*1997 Recipient Pino Gold Medal Italian Chemical Society
\\ \\


[{Image src='User/paper_content_pencil_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Curriculum Vitae |User/Feringa_Ben/CV]
[{Image src='User/book_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Publication list|User/Feringa_Ben/Publications]
[{Image src='User/camera_noflash_48.png' width='48px' class='image_left'}]
[Highlights of my work and anecdotes|User/Feringa_Ben/Highlight]
[{Image src='User/database_48.png' class='image_left'}]
[Other information|User/Feringa_Ben/OtherInformation]

[{ALLOW view All}]
[{ALLOW edit bferinga}]
[{ALLOW upload bferinga}]
[{ALLOW comment All}]