Qiuming Cheng#

Qiuming Cheng
Membership Number:5286
Membership type:FOREIGN
Main Country of Residence:CHINA

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2004 - present Professor and Founding Director, State Key Lab. of Geological Processes and Mineral Resources (China University of Geosciences)
  • 2011 - present National Expert Special Professor, China University of Geosciences (Beijing)
  • 1995 Assistnt Professor,1997:Associate Professor,2002.1: Full Professor,2016-: Professor Emeritus,Dept. of Earth and Space Science and Engineering, Dept. of Geography,York University,Toronto (Canada)
  • 2002 - 2011 Changjiang Scholar Professor, China University of Geosciences (Wuhan)
  • 2001 - 2001 JSPS Visiting Professor at University of Tokyo (Japan)
  • 1994 - 1995 Postdoctoral Follow, Geological Survey of Canada, Ottawa (Canada)
  • 1985 - 1990 Lecturer, Changchun University of Earth Sciences (now Jilin University), Jilin (China)

Fields of Scholarship
  • Mineral resource potential assessment
  • Mineral prospecting and exploration
  • Fractal dynamic modeling of extreme geological events
  • Geoinformatics and GIS data integration
  • Fractal and singularity analysis of nonlinear geological processes
  • Spatial analysis and machine learning
  • Mathematical Geosciences
  • Nonlinear processes in geosciences

Honours and Awards
  • 2020 Foreign Member of Academia Europaea (MAE)
  • 2019 Academician, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
  • 2019 - 2021 Member of Committee of Science Planning (CSP),International Science Council (ISC)
  • 2016 - 2020 President of the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS)
  • 2016 Li Shiguang Scholar, awarded by the China Geological Survey
  • 2013 State Science and Technology Progress Award (Second Class), awarded by the China Central Government
  • 2012 - 2016 President of the International Association for Mathematical Geosciences (IAMG)
  • 2011 Natural Resources Science and Technology Award (First class), awarded by the Ministry of Natural Resources of China
  • 2008 William Christian Krumbein Medal, the highest award given by the International Association for Mathematical Geosciences (IAMG). This award is awarded to a senior scientist every other year for career achievement
  • 2005 Distinguished Young Scholar, awarded by the Natural Science Foundation of China
  • 2002 Chengjiang Scholar, awarded jointly by the China Ministry of Education and Chengjiang Corp in Hang Kong
  • 2000 Premier's Research Excellence Awards (PREA), awarded by the Premier of Ontario in Canada
  • 2000 Fellow, Geological Society of Canada(GAC)
  • 1998 Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), awarded by the Canada Federal Government
  • 1997 Fellow, International Association of Applied Geochemists (AAG)
  • 1995 President's Prize (renamed Andrei Borisovich Vistelius Research Award), awarded by International Association for Mathematical Geosciences to early career scientists
  • 1994 Graduate Studies and Research Award, University of Ottawa

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-8) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by