Jean-Pierre Changeux#

Jean-Pierre Changeux
Membership Number:63
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:FRANCE

Present and Previous Positions
  • 1955 École Normale Supérieure, Bachelor's degree
  • 1957 Master's degree (Diplome d'Études Supérieure)
  • 1964 PhD studies at the Pasteur Institute under the direction of Jacques Monod and Francois Jacob
  • 1965 - 1966 University of California Berkeley
  • 1967 Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, New-York
  • 1972 Unit of Molecular Neurobiology at the Pasteur Institute, where he received a professorship in 1975
  • 1975 Changeux was elected professor at the Collège de France, chair of Cell Communications, position that he held until 2006

Fields of Scholarship
  • Neuroscience

Honours and Awards
  • 2021 Clarivate citation laureate in Physiology or medicine, London
  • 2020 Elevated Lead scientist of the Human Brain program SGA3, Brussels-Lausanne
  • 2018 Goldman-Rakic Prize for “Outstanding Achievements in Cognitive Neuroscience”, New-York, & Yale
  • 2018 Albert Einstein World Award of Science, for "exceptional scientific achievements and leadership in the field of neuroscience and especially for his pioneering contributions to the science and understanding of neuroreceptors for the past 50 years". Hong Kong
  • 2016 The Olav Thon international research award in biomedicine, to “honour a researcher who has connected a deep understanding of molecules and their regulation to new insights into the functions and diseases of the brain”. Oslo, Norway,
  • 2015 Italian Society for Neuroethics Award Medal, Padova
  • 2012 Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science Award for Eminent Scientists, Tokyo
  • 2010 Pasarow Award for "Extraordinary achievements in neuropsychiatric research", Los Angeles
  • 2008 Neuronal plasticity prize, IPSEN Foundation
  • 2008 CINP Pioneer Award
  • 2007 NAS Award in the Neurosciences from the National Academy of Sciences
  • 2006 Golden Eurydice Award from International Forum of Biophilosophy
  • 2006 Dart/NYU Biotechnology Award in Basic Biotechnology
  • 2005 Lewis Thomas Prize for Writing about Science
  • 2002 American Philosophical Society’s Karl Spencer Lashley Award in neuroscience
  • 2001 Balzan Prize for Cognitive Neurosciences
  • 2000 Langley Award for basic research on nicotine and tobacco, Washington
  • 1999 Linus Pauling medal, Stanford, US
  • 1999 Eli Lilly award in preclinical Neuroscience, European College of Neuropsychopharmacology
  • 1998 Prize Emanuel Merck in Chemistry, Darmastadt
  • 1997 Prize Jean-Louis Signoret in Neuropsychology, Ipsen Foundation
  • 1997 Great prize of the Foundation for Medical Research, Paris
  • 1996 Max-Delbrück Medal in Molecular Medicine
  • 1994 Sir Hans Krebs medal, FEBS
  • 1994 Goodman and Gilman Award in drug receptor pharmacology
  • 1994 Camillo Golgi medal, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
  • 1993 Thudichum medal, Biochemical Society
  • 1993 Louis-Jeantet prize for Medicine
  • 1992 Science for Art, Prix d'Honneur LVMH
  • 1992 International Prize Amedeo e Frances Herlitzka for Physiological Sciences
  • 1992 Gold-medal of the French CNRS.
  • 1991 Carl-Gustav-Bernhard medal of the Swedish Academy of Science
  • 1990 Bristol-Myers-Squibb prize of the Neurosciences Research Institute.
  • 1988 Rita-Levi-Montalcini prize of the Fidia Foundation
  • 1986 prize F.-O- Schmitt of the Neursosciences Research Institute.
  • 1985 Ciba Geigy Drew Award in Biomedical Research
  • 1983 literacy prize Broquette-Gonin of the French academy for the "l'Homme neuronal"
  • 1982 prize Richard-Lounsbery of the US Academy of Sciences and the French Academy of Sciences
  • 1982 Wolf Foundation Prize in Medicine for “the isolation, purification and characterization of the acetylcholine receptor”, Jerusalem, Israel
  • 1978 Gairdner Foundation International Award
  • 1977 Alexandre-Joannidès prize of the French Academy of Sciences

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-14) was last changed on Friday, 21. October 2022, 09:39 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by