Gilles Brassard#

Gilles Brassard
Email:brassard 'at'
Membership Number:3141
Membership type:FOREIGN
Main Country of Residence:CANADA

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2001 Canada Research Chair in Quantum Information Processing (renewed 2008)
  • 1988 Professor, Université de Montréal
  • 1994 Directeur de recherche associé du CNRS, École Normale Supérieure, Paris (6 months)
  • 1983 Associate Professor, Université de Montréal
  • 1979 Assistant Professor, Université de Montréal

Fields of Scholarship
  • Quantum Information Science
  • Quantum and classical cryptography
  • Quantum entanglement and non-locality as new computation and communication resource
  • Quantum communication complexity
  • Quantum computing
  • Quantum teleportation
  • Foundations of quantum mechanics
  • Computer privacy
  • Theoretical computer science

Honours and Awards
  • 2020 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Basic Sciences (together with Charles H. Bennett and Peter Shor) "for their fundamental role in the development of quantum computation and cryptography"
  • 2011 Killam Prize for Natural Sciences, Canada Council
  • 2010 Doctorate Honoris Causa, ETH Zürich
  • 2009 Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering (highest scientific honour in Canada), NSERC
  • 2008 Personality of the year 2007 in information technology, Federation de l'informatique du Québec, OCTAS
  • 2006 Award of excellence, NSERC
  • 2006 Fellow, International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR)
  • 2006 Rank Prize in Opto-Electronics, United Kingdom
  • 2002 Fellow, Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR)
  • 2000 Prix Marie-Victorin (highest scientific recognition by Government of Québec)
  • 1998 Foreign member, Latvian Academy of Sciences
  • 1997 Killam Research Fellow, Canada Council
  • 1996 Fellow, Royal Society of Canada, Academy of Science
  • 1995 Scientist of the Year, La Presse (leading daily newspaper in Montréal)
  • 1994 Steacie Prize, National Research Council of Canada
  • 1992 Prix Urgel-Archambault, ACFAS
  • 1992 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship, NSERC

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-12) was last updated on Thursday, 4. June 2020, 16:00 by AcadAdmin
  • operated by