Anders Björklund#

Anders Björklund
Email:anders.bjorklund 'at'
Membership Number:675
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:SWEDEN

Present and Previous Positions
  • 1996 Professor and Section Chief at Wallenberg Neuroscience Center at Lund University
  • 1983 Professor of Histology at Lund University
  • 1973 - 1983 Associate Prof. of Histology at Lund University
  • 1971 - 1972 Docent at Lund University
  • 1969 - 1971 Research associate at Lund University
  • 1966 - 1969 Assistant teacher at Lund University

Fields of Scholarship
  • Neuroanatomy
  • Neuronal regeneration
  • Cell transplantation
  • Gene transfer
  • Repair in the central nervous system

Honours and Awards
  • Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Turin, Italy 1987
  • Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Copenhagen, Denmark 1989
  • Master of Science, University of Oxford, 1989
  • Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences since 1989
  • Member of the Academia Europaea, 1989
  • President of the European Neuroscience Association 1996–1998
  • Lifetime Fellow of Clare Hall College, Cambridge, UK since 1999
  • The Wakeman Award from Duke University, NC, USA, 1984 (with L Olson and U Stenevi)
  • Brooks Lecturer at the Harvard Medical School, November 1986
  • Presidential Lecturer, Society for Neuroscence annual meeting, Toronto, 1988
  • Presidential Lecturer, Eruropean Neuroscience Association meeting, Turin, 1989
  • The Zulch Prize from the Max-Planck Society, Germany, 1990 (with Lars Olson)
  • The Göran Gustafsson Prize and Award from the Swedish Academy of Sciences,1990The IPSEN Prize in Neuronal Plasticity from the IPSEN Foundation, Paris, 1990 (with Albert Aguayo and Fred H. Gage)
  • The International Cajal Award from the Cajal Institute, Madrid, Spain, 1991
  • The Charles A. Dana Award from the Dana Foundation, New York, 1992 (with Fred H. Gage)
  • Lars Leksell Lecturer, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA, 1992
  • Decade of the Brain Lecturer, American Academy of Neurology, San Diego, 1992
  • The Jubilee Medal Prize from the Swedish Society for Medicine, Stockholm, 1993
  • The Koester Memorial Lectureship and Award, University of Zürich, Switzerland, 1995
  • Decade of the Brain Lecture, Brain Research Association, London, 1995
  • The Anders Jahre Prize for Medical Research from Oslo University, Norway, 1995 (with Lars Olson)
  • The Stanley Fahn Lecturer, The Movement Disorders Society Meeting, New York, 1998
  • The Söderberg Prize for Medical Research from the Swedish Society for Medicine, Stockholm, 2000 (with Olle Lindvall)
  • William H. Sweet Lecturer, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, October 2002
  • Presidential Lecturer, Society for Neuroscience Annual Meeting, Orlando, Fla, Nov. 2002
  • The Van Wagenen Lecture, American Association for Neurological Surgeons Annual meeting, Orlando Fla. May 2004
  • The Charles Sherrington Lecture, University of Liverpool, Nov 23, 2004
  • The Ragnar Granit Lecture in Neuroscience, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Nov. 25, 2004
  • The Wendell JS Krieg Lifetime Achievement Award from the Cajal Club, June 2006
  • Lundbeck Foundation Nordic Award for Outstanding Research, Copenhagen, March 2007
  • The Sven Berggren Prize from the Royal Physiographic Society, Lund, October 2008
  • The Van Wagenen Lecture, American Association for Neurological Surgeons Annual Meeting, San Diego,May 2009
  • The Robert A Pritzker Prize from the Michael J Fox Foundation, June 2011
  • The Eric K Fernstrom Nordic Prize from Lund University, November 2011

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-8) was last updated on Wednesday, 4. July 2018, 14:33 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by