## Academia Europaea

The Academy of Europe



07 October 2014

PRESS RELEASE

Published today on behalf of the Board of Trustees

## Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2014

The Board are pleased to congratulate two members of the Academia Europaea who have been awarded with the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for 2014.

May-Britt Moser, and Edvard Moser have won (*jointly with John O'Keefe*) the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. The Husband-and-wife team May-Britt and Edvard Moser are professors at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU).

Sierd Cloetingh, President of the Academia Europaea has sent congratulations on behalf of the entire membership to the two laureates.

-----

May-Britt Moser and Edvard Moser, are members of the Physiology & Medicine Section of the Academia Europaea. The prize is awarded "for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain." The Nobel Assembly said the discoveries show how the brain creates "a map of the space surrounding us and how we can navigate our way through a complex environment."

May-Britt Moser (born 1963), psychologist and neuroscientist, is professor at the Kavli Institute for Systems Neuroscience at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology and director of the Centre for Neural Computation in Trondheim. Her husband Edvard Moser (born 1962), also psychologist and neuroscientist, is professor and director of the same institute.

The research of the Laureates helps better understand how people orient themselves. The positioning system they have discovered is like "an "inner GPS" in the brain that makes it possible to orient ourselves in space, demonstrating a cellular basis for higher cognitive function", said the Nobel Assembly at Sweden's Karolinska Institute.

The other half of the Nobel Prize goes to John O'Keefe, the director of the Sainsbury Wellcome Centre in Neural Circuits and Behaviour at University College London who discovered the first component of this positioning system in 1971.

As Pasteur said "Science has not a country, but scientists do", Norwegian science and scientists can be proud of this distinction awarded to their two countrypersons.

Academia Europaea

4th Floor, 21 Albemarle Street London W1S 4HS Tel: +44 (0) 207 495 3717 Fax: +44 (0) 207 629 5442 Email: execsec@acadeuro.org www.ae-info.org

President: Professor Sierd Cloetingh Vice President: Professor Anne Buttimer Treasurer: Professor Sir Roger Elliott Executive Secretary: Dr David Coates

General enquiries: admin@acadeuro.org Registered at Companies House: 7028223 Registered in England as a not-for-profit charity (1133902)

## ACADEMIA EUROPAEA The Academy of Europe



## About the Academia Europaea:

The Academia Europaea is an international, non-governmental not-for-profit association of individual scientists and scholars. The Academy is pan-European, with elected members drawn from the whole European continent. Membership is currently in the region of 3,000 and members cover the natural sciences, humanities and letters. The Academy was founded in 1988. Members are drawn from some 35 European countries and eight non-European countries. Members are grouped into 20 Academic Sections. The Academia Europaea organises workshops, conferences, study groups; publishes the European Review and other academic materials; provides expert advice on European Science policy matters either alone and through the European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC). The organisation is registered as a charity under UK law.

Further information can be accessed via the website <u>www.ae-info.org</u> or from the Executive Secretary.

Academia Europaea

4th Floor, 21 Albemarle Street London W1S 4HS Tel: +44 (0) 207 495 3717 Fax: +44 (0) 207 629 5442 Email: execsec@acadeuro.org www.ae-info.org

President: Professor Sierd Cloetingh Vice President: Professor Anne Buttimer Treasurer: Professor Sir Roger Elliott Executive Secretary: Dr David Coates

General enquiries: admin@acadeuro.org Registered at Companies House: 7028223 Registered in England as a not-for-profit charity (1133902)