The Brain Prize for 2018#

The Brain Prize for 2018 is awarded to Bart De Strooper and Christian Haass (together with Michel Goedert and John Hardy) 'for their groundbreaking research on the genetic and molecular basis of Alzheimer’s disease, with far-reaching implications for the development of new therapeutic interventions as well as for the understanding of other neurodegenerative diseases of the brain'.

Four neuroscientists receive The Brain Prize for crucial research on Alzheimer's The tireless efforts of these four leading scientists to understand Alzheimer's have provided the foundation for treatment of one of the most devastating diseases of our era. For this, they are receiving the world's most valuable prize for brain research, The Lundbeck Foundation Brain Prize, worth 1 million euros.

Professor Bart De Strooper is a member of the Cell and Developmental Biology section of Academia Europaea and Professor Christian Haass is a member of the Physiology and Neuroscience section of Academia Europaea.

Download the press release(info), Lundbeck Foundation

Professor Bart De Strooper
Professor Bart De Strooper

Professor Christian Haass
Professor Christian Haass

Academia Europaea congratulates Professor Bart De Strooper and Professor Christian Haass to this distinction! #

The Prize#

The Brain Prize 1 mio. € is a personal research prize awarded annually by The Lundbeck Foundation.

The Brain Prize is awarded to one or more scientists who have distinguished themselves by an outstanding contribution to neuroscience and who are still active in research.

The Brain Prize recognises highly original and influential advances in any area of neuroscience, including fundamental research on molecular, cellular, physiological and pharmacological mechanisms, studies of behaviour and cognition, advances in technology for monitoring the nervous system, translational research on the application of basic knowledge to clinical and other problems of humankind, and clinical research on the causes, treatment and prevention of neurological and psychiatric disorders.

If several researchers have contributed significantly to this achievement, more than one individual may be nominated. Nominees can be of any nationality.

Only nominated candidates will be considered by the Selection Committee.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-4) was last updated on Monday, 4. June 2018, 14:24 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by