Novo Nordisk

Call for Nominations
The 2023 edition of The Novo Nordisk Prize#

Deadline: 1 June, 2022

The Novo Nordisk Foundation is seeking nomination for the Third Edition of the European Novo Nordisk Prize. Members of Academia Europeae are invited to nominate the bright minds behind the biomedical breakthroughs that have shown true translational impact and advanced medical sciences.

The 2022 Novo Nordisk Prize recognizes an active scientist for her/his excellent research, inspirational leadership and mentoring, leading to a major discovery or breakthrough in biomedical science. The Prize is intended to award and further support biomedical research with translational impact, in Europe.

The Prize is of DKK 5 million (appr. EUR 672,000) and consists of a DKK 4,5 million (appr. EUR 605,000) research grant and a personal award of DKK 0,5 million (appr. EUR 67,000). The Foundation will grant an additional DKK 0,5 million for hosting an international symposium within the recipient’s field(s) of research.


The Foundation welcomes nominations by individual researchers and by research institutions including academic and industrial institutions, and research funding agencies.

A nomination must be submitted electronically via the nomination form: The nomination and review processes are confidential.


  • Nominees must demonstrate scientific excellence that has led to a major discovery or breakthrough in understanding of human health and disease, prevention, diagnosis and/or treatment of the disease that have shown translational impact.
  • Nominees must have a current position and an active research program at a public, nonprofit research institution and/or in a company based in a European country.
  • Nominees must serve as inspirational leaders and role models for young scientists. Nominees may have any nationalities.
  • Nominators (individual or institution) are not limited in number of nominations.


  • Self-nominations are not accepted
  • Nominators cannot be family members
  • The prize may not be awarded to members of the Novo Nordisk Foundation Board or committee members or to Board members, directors or employees of the Novo Group

More about The Novo Nordisk Prize at:
Nomination form
Download the call for nominations(info)

History of the Prize#

The prize, originally DKK 50,000, was first awarded on 16 February 1963. Since then, the amount awarded gradually increased. The prize was called the Novo Prize from 1963 until 1989, when it was renamed the Novo Nordisk Prize. Until 2020 the Prize was given for a Danish contribution. In 2020, it has been decided to change the geographical scope of the prize and from 2021 the prize will be awarded for a European contribution.


Novo Nordisk Foundation
Scientific Secretariat

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-10) was last changed on Tuesday, 31. May 2022, 14:15 by AcadAdmin
  • operated by