Falling Walls

Global Call for Nominations for the Science Breakthroughs of the Year 2022#

Deadline: 15 May 2022

Academia Europaea encourages its members to submit nominations for the Falling Walls Science Breakthroughs of the Year 2022. Falling Walls is a prestigeous Foundation, established to commemorate the falling of the Berlin wall. The patron is Angela Merkel and the Foundation is headed by Juergen Mlynek.

Professor Marja Makarow, president of Academia Europaea, is the Chair of the Jury for Life sciences and Professor Björn Wittrock is chairing the Jury for Social sciences and humanities. Professor Helga Nowotny, member of the Social Change and Social Thought section and Professor Carl-Henrik Heldin, member of the Cell and Developmental Biology section are members of the Board of Trustees of the Falling Walls Foundation.

About the Science Breakthroughs of the Year 2022#

Breakthrough research was and is the key to understanding and solving the greatest challenges of our time. We look forward to, once again, honouring the people who are finding solutions to these challenges at the Falling Walls Science Summit 2022.

To help make the Falling Walls Science Summit 2022 the celebration that excellent science deserves, we are asking leading academics and academic institutions, universities, research organizations, companies, private and public research centers, academies, research funders, foundations, and individuals to nominate the bright minds behind the latest breakthroughs and outstanding science projects in our 10 categories:

1) Life Sciences

2) Physical Sciences

3) Engineering and Technology

4) Social Sciences and Humanities

5) Art and Science

6) Future Learning (formerly Digital Education)

7) Science and Innovation Management

8) Emerging Talents (Falling Walls Lab)

9) Science Start-Ups (Falling Walls Venture)

10) Science Engagement (Falling Walls Engage)



Submit your nominations for Breakthrough of the Year via our form no later than 15 May 2022. To nominate someone or yourself, you will be asked to register, and then fill out some basic information about the person or project you wish to nominate. We advise you to submit your nomination as early as possible, so the nominee is able to accept the nomination and submit further information about their research or project before the deadline. Once your submission is made, the nominee will be contacted automatically with next steps regarding their nomination as Breakthrough of the Year in their respective category.


If your Nominee is selected, they will then become a Falling Walls Finalist. The Finalists in the categories 1–7, 9, and 10 will be officially announced on our website.


Our distinguished juries, chaired by Helga Nowotny, President Emerita of the European Research Council, will select 10 Winners each for categories 1-7. Through the respective pre-selection processes, up to 100 Winners for category 8, 25 Winners for category 9, and 20 Winners for category 10 will be invited to the Falling Walls Pitches on 7 November, where they will have the opportunity to pitch their work live in front of our distinguished juries. Winners of the categories 1–7 will have the opportunity to feature their work in a short video in our content library.


The juries will select the Science Breakthroughs of the Year from the Winners of each category. On 9 November, the Breakthroughs of the Year will receive the opportunity to present their work to a global audience on the Breakthrough Stage at the Falling Walls Science Summit in Berlin.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-9) was last changed on Tuesday, 31. May 2022, 14:15 by AcadAdmin
  • operated by