2021 Premi Ramon Margalef d'Ecologia open call#

Members of Academia Europaea are cordially invited to submit a nomination to the 2021 Premi Ramon Margalef d'Ecologia.

The nominations must be submitted following the specific instructions through Academia Europaea by sending the final nomination dossier to the Executive Secretary, Dr. David Coates (Execsec@acadeuro.org by 31st APRIL 2021. The Academy will then consider to support and submit the nominations.


Ecology the science whose object is the study of the relationships between organisms and their environments.

Professor Ramon Margalef i López (Barcelona, 1919-2004) was one of the first researchers and thinkers in the frame of this ecology, that has become essential to understand the way the world works and to solve environmental problems. His scientific and intellectual work, of the first magnitude, encompasses the fields of aquatic ecology (limnology and oceanography, especially plankton ecology) and theoretical ecology.

With his work he made a decisive contribution to establishing modern ecological science to the point where he is regarded as one of the leading exponents in the world.

Ramon Margalef was also one of the first ecologists who understood that the human species is just a species of the biosphere, with a huge impact on the environment, but dependent on it like the rest of the species of its natural environment. For all this, the Government of Catalonia annually announces the Premi Ramon Margalef d'Ecologia, created in 2004 to honor the scientist and to acknowledge people or groups from around the world who have distinguished themselves in an exceptional way in the field of ecological science.


1 The aim of the Premi Ramon Margalef d’Ecologia is to recognize an exceptional scientific career or discovery in the field of ecological science that has contributed to significant progress in scientific knowledge or thought, or to the development of theoretical instruments for the good management of natural resources on land or in the sea.

2 The Prize may be awarded either to individuals or to legal persons or groups from all over the world that have made significant contributions to the development of the ecological sciences.

3 Candidatures must be submitted by university institutions, superior schools, research centers or scientific academies or have science divisions and other institutions of similar purpose, by persons who have been awarded the Prize or by persons who have been members of the Jury. Exceptionally, candidatures submitted by persons with an acknowledged prestige in the field of ecology will also be admitted. Candidatures, which must be argued (with a maximum of 5 letters) and must be accompanied by a curriculum vitae, should be presented preferably through the electronic means of gencat Procedures (tramits.gencat.cat). However, they can be presented in paper format, addressed to the Department of the Presidency (Carrer Sant Honorat, 1-3, 08002 Barcelona).

Once presented, candidatures must be considerated in two more calls (three in total), except if the proposer explicity says his candidature not to be considered again.

4 The Prize is endowed with an award of eighty thousand (80,000) euros and a unique and symbolic trophy dedicated to the memory of Ramon Margalef.

5 The Prize is awarded annually.

6 The Jury, assisted by the non-voting Secretary, will decide the winning candidature by majority. The Jury’s decision shall be final.

7 The winner will be announced by the Management Board. The Prize will be awarded at a ceremony in Barcelona.



Jordi Catalan

Research professor, CREAF (Center for Ecological Research and Forest Applications), Autonomous University of Barcelona (Bellaterra, Spain)


Cristiana Callieri

Research professor, Water Research Institute (IRSA), National Research Council of Italy (CNR) (Verbania, Italy)

Sandra Díaz

Research professor, Multidisciplinary Institute of Plant Biology, National Council of Scientific and Technical Research (CONICET) (Córdoba, Argentina)

Thomas Kiorboe

Research professor, National Institute of Aquatic Resources, Technical University of Denmark (Kongens Lyngby, Denmark)

Cèlia Marrasé

Research professor, Institute of Marine Sciences, High Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) (Barcelona, Spain)

Wim van der Putten

Head, Department of Terrestrial Ecology, Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO-KNAW) (Wageningen, The Netherlands)

Emily Stanley

Research professor, Center of Limnology, University of Wisconsin-Madison (Madison, Wisconsin, United States of America)

Generalitat de Catalunya#

Secretaria Tècnica del Premi Ramon Margalef d’Ecologia
Departament de la Presidència, Gabinet Tècnic
Generalitat de Catalunya
Plaça Sant Jaume, s/n, 08002 Barcelona
Tel. +34 934 024 782
A/e: prm@gencat.cat

Download the call for nominations(info)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-8) was last changed on Tuesday, 1. June 2021, 08:29 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by