Prof. Ole Petersen awarded Palade Prize 2022#

Prof. Ole Petersen, member of the Physiology and Neuroscience section of Academia Europaea since 1988, has received the 2022 Palade Prize and medal by the Council of the International Association of Pancreatology (IAP) “in recognition of his outstanding research contribution to Pancreatology”. The award was presented during the 53rd Annual Meeting of the Japan Pancreas Society on 7 July 2022 in Kyoto/Japan. Prof. Petersen is also the director of the Academia Europaea – Cardiff Knowledge Hub at the Cardiff School of Biosciences, where he holds a professorship in physiology.

Dr Pramod Garg, Secretary General of IAP, presents the award to Professor Ole Petersen. From left to right: Professor Ole Petersen, Dr Pramod Garg, Secretary General of IAP and Professor Yoshifumi Takeyama, President of the IAP

Professor Petersen received the Palade Prize and Medal, and gave the Palade Prize Lecture on 7th July in Kyoto, Japan, at the Joint Meeting of the International Association of Pancreatology (IAP) and the Japan Pancreas Society (JPS).

At the ceremony, Dr Pramod Garg, Secretary General of IAP, Professor of Gastroenterology at the All India Institute of Medical Research in New Delhi, congratulated Professor Petersen with the following words:

“IAP bestows this award on you for your original and impactful research contribution to Pancreatology. I have been personally impressed with your seminal work on Calcium signalling in the pathophysiology of acute pancreatitis, so have been many others around the world. It is only befitting that IAP has decided to honour you for your consistent contribution.”

On receiving his award, Professor Petersen said,

“It is a great honour for me to receive this special award. Thank you to the IAP for this recognition.”

About the Palade Prize#

The Palade Prize is the most distinguished award of the IAP for excellence in pancreatic research particularly for deciphering basic mechanisms of pancreatic physiology/disease pathophysiology. It is named after George E. Palade who was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1974 for his work on protein trafficking in the pancreatic acinar cells. Previous prize winners include Markus Lerch MAE (2018), Makoto Otsuki (2016), Professor David Whitcomb (2015), Professor Clem Imrie (2014), Professor Ashok Saluja (2013), Professor John Williams (2012), Professor Fred Gorelick (2011) and Professor James Jamieson (2010).

About Professor Ole Petersen#

Ole Petersen is Professor of Physiology in the School of Biosciences at Cardiff University. As one of the world’s prominent physiologists, he leads a research group on disease of the pancreas. Petersen was elected Fellow of The Royal Society in 2000, Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina in 2010 and gave the Leopoldina Lecture in 2012. He received the Nordic Insulin Foundation’s Jacobaeus Prize (1994), the Czech Academy of Sciences’ Purkynĕ Medal (2003) and was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 2008 for ‘Services to Science’.

In 2017, he was elected Honorary Member of the German Society for Gastroenterology, Digestive & Metabolic Diseases. More recently, he received the American Physiological Society’s Walter B Cannon Memorial Award. Professor Petersen is Vice-President of Academia Europaea and Director of the AE Cardiff Knowledge Hub. He has been appointed Chief Editor of American Physiological Society’s Open Access flagship journal ‘Function’ launched in 2020. In 2021 Ole Petersen received the Academia Europaea Gold Medal for his contribution to the development of European science.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-6) was last changed on Thursday, 22. September 2022, 08:29 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by