James Yorke Award to Prof. Miguel A.F. Sanjuán#

Professor Miguel A.F. Sanjuán receives the "James Yorke Award" for his great achievements in Nonlinear Dynamics and Chaos.

Prof. Sanjuán is called to receive the James Yorke Award.

Miguel A.F. Sanjuán, member of the Physics and Engineering Sciences section of Academia Europaea and Professor of Physics at the Rey Juan Carlos University, where he heads the Nonlinear Dynamics, Chaos Theory and Complex Systems Research Group, has received the James Yorke Award for his groundbreaking achievements in Nonlinear Dynamics and Chaos. Prof. Sanjuán is also Corresponding Member of the Spanish Royal Academy of Sciences and Foreign Member of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences.

The James Yorke Award has been instituted at the International Conference on Mathematical Analysis and Applications in Science and Engineering, which has taken place at the end of June in the Portuguese city of Porto to reward great achievements in Nonlinear Dynamics and Chaos. Prof. Sanjuán is therefore the first recipient for his important contributions to the understanding of fractal structures in chaotic scattering, the control of chaotic systems, and the development of map-based models of neurons and other applications in nonlinear and chaotic dynamics.

Prof. James Yorke is one of the pioneers of Chaos Theory, who in 1975 coined the term "chaos" in the modern literature of nonlinear dynamical systems. This mathematical physical concept has become popular in contemporary culture through what has come to be known as the "butterfly effect", implying that a minimal variation in the initial conditions of a dynamic process can change everything. In this sense, it is closely linked to problems of uncertainty in the prediction of natural phenomena. Prof. James Yorke is Distinguished Professor of Mathematics of Physics at the University of Maryland in the USA. In 2003 he received the highly prestigious Japan Prize, which is awarded by the Government of Japan and presented by the Emperor of Japan himself. In 2019 he was elected Foreign Member of the Academia Europaea and in 2022 Foreign Member of the Spanish Royal Academy of Sciences.

Prof. Sanjuán congratulates Prof. James Yorke on the award of the Doctor Honoris Causa from the University Rey Juan Carlos in 2014.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-7) was last changed on Thursday, 22. September 2022, 08:23 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by