Jeroen van den Bergh#

For details about Jeroen van den Bergh see
Research fields:
  • Environmental and resource economics
  • Energy and climate economics
  • Environmental science and ecological economics
  • Evolutionary economics and innovation studies
  • Spatial (regional, transport and urban) economics.

Academic background:
  • PhD in Economics, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, (1991).
  • Master in Econometrics, Universiteit van Tilburg, (1988).

Postdoctoral training and fellowship appoinments:
  • Fellow of NAKE. Netherlands Network of Economics. (2001-2030).
  • Fellow of Tinbergen Institute. Tinbergen Institute. (1994-2030).

Professional experience:
  • ICREA Research Professor at UAB (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona) - (2007-Present)
  • Professor of Environmental and Resource Economics. VU (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam) - (2007-Present)
  • Professor Associat. UAB (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona) - , Department of Economics and Economic History (2007-Present)
  • Professor of ‘Nature, Space and Water’. VU (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam) - Institute for Environmental Studies (2002-2007)
  • Professor of Environmental Economics. VU (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam) - Faculty of Economics and Business Administration (1997-2007)

Honours and Awards:
  • Editor-in-Chief of a new journal, "Environmental Innovation and Societal Transitions" (Elsevier Publishers).. (2010).
  • Among top 5% economists in Europe and listed number 21 (highest position) in the ranking of economists of Spain by IDEAS/RePEc ( (2010).
  • Article "The GDP Paradox” in Journal of Econ. Psychology 30(2) awarded "Citation of Excellence" by Emerald Management Reviews. Based on reviews of 15,000 articles in > 400 journals. (2010).
  • Member of the Steering Group of the international Sustainability Transitions Research Network. (2010).
  • Appointed member of the Editorial Board of the journal "Resources, Conservation and Recycling". (2009).
  • Appointed member of the editorial board (“Scientific Advisory Board”) of the journal "Environmental and Resource Economics". (2008).
  • Nominated as candidate for President in 2007 elections of the International Society for Ecological Economics (ISEE). (2007).
  • Member of the advisory council of the Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency (January 2007 – March 2008). (2007).
  • Member of the scientific board of the Austrian Institute of Economic Research (WIFO) in Vienna (since July 2004). (2004).
  • Editor of Book series “Advances in Ecological Economics”, Edward Elgar Publishing, Cheltenham, UK (since 2004). (2004).
  • Member of the Energy Council of the Netherlands (“Algemene Energieraad”) (2003-2007). (2003).
  • Royal/Shell Prize 2002 for research on ‘Sustainable Development, Environment and Resources’. The selection was done under auspices of the “Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences”. (2002).
  • Member of the Committee Genetic Modification (COGEM), and vice-chair of its subcommittee “Ethics and Social Aspects” (2002-2005).. (2002).
  • Member of the advisory board of the Research Program “Evolution and Behaviour”, resorting under The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) (2002-2005). (2002).
  • Ranked among 30 best publishing and most cited economists of the Netherlands (since 2001). (2001).
  • Handbook of Environmental and Resource Economics (1999) awarded “Outstanding Academic Title” by Choice Magazine. (2000).
  • Elected member of The Board of Directors of the International Society for Ecological Economics (ISEE) (2000-2002). (2000).
  • Chairman of three committees of the Netherlands Organization of Scientific Research (NWO): Social, Economic and Spatial Sciences (1999-2001), Social Science Research on Climate Change (VAM, 2003-7), and Environmental Sciences ("Duurzame Aarde", 2006-7). (1999).
  • Member of the program committee of the Multidisciplinary Research Program “Biodiversity”, resorting under The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) (1998-2008). (1998).
  • Member of the permanent Dutch KNAW-LOICZ committee (land-ocean interactions in coastal zones), resorting under the Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences and IGBP (International Geosphere-Biospere Program) (since 1998). (1998).

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-6) was last changed on Tuesday, 8. March 2011, 12:36 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by