Christos Zerefos#

Christos Zerefos
Membership Number:2551
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GREECE

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2021 Secretary General of the Academy of Athens
  • 2008 Head, Research Centre for Atmospheric Physics and Climatology of the Academy of Athens
  • 2002 Professor of Atmospheric Physics, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
  • 1995 Scientific Collaborator, University of Oslo, Norway
  • 1985 Honorary Fellow (Fulbright Scholar), University of Minnesota, USA
  • 1983 Visiting Professor, Physics and Astronomy Department, Boston University, Boston USA
  • 1979 Professor of Atmospheric Physics, Physics Department, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • 1973 PhD in Physics and Meteorology, University of Athens, Greece

Fields of Scholarship
  • Ozone and UV research
  • Atmospheric physics
  • Climate change
  • Global change

Honours and Awards
  • 2018 Emeritus Professor, Physics Department, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
  • 2018 “Ioan Ursu” Medal of Honour of the Balkan Physical Union
  • 2018 Badge of Honour, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
  • 2018 - 2019 Expert, “Climate Change and Health” project, European Academies’ Science Advisory Council
  • 2016 Honorary Doctorate Degree, Physics Department, University of Patras
  • 2016 Honorary Member of the International Ozone Commission
  • 2016 Honorary Member of “Elliniki Etairia-Society for the Environment and Cultural Heritage”
  • 2015 Blaise Pascal Medal, European Academy of Sciences
  • 2015 French Government Decoration “Commandeur dans l’ordre de Palmes académiques”
  • 2015 Yoram Kaufman Award of the AGU Atmosphere Science Section
  • 2015 Award of the Balkan Physical Union
  • 2013 United Nations Environment Program Honourable Mention
  • 2012 Reviewer, IPCC Special Report on Managing the Risks of Extreme Events and Disasters to Advance Climate Change Adaptation (SREX). Field et al., (eds.), Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, UK, and New York, NY, USA, 582 pp.
  • Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Geology and Geoenvironment, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (since 2010).
  • 2010 Medal of the City of Athens
  • 2010 Distinction, Municipality of Panorama of Thessaloniki
  • 2010 Distinction from the Ministry of Education of the Arab Republic of Egypt and Award from the Cultural Center of the Embassy in Athens
  • 2010 "European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Award" Award for the establishment of the Geoastrophysics Museum and the rehabilitation of the buildings, the laboratories and the Library, National Observatory of Athens
  • 2010 Award for his contribution to the science of the Environmental Research from the World Congress of the International Geological Society
  • 2010 Honorary Citizen of the Municipality of Megara
  • 2009 Signatory of the Tripartite Agreement of the Centre of Atmospheric Environment, Biomedical Research Foundation of the Academy of Athens with the Bert Bolin Center, University of Stockholm and the Company TEMES SA, for the establishment of the Navarino Environmental Observatory (N.E.O.) in southwest Peloponnese. The Agreement was renewed in 2014 for the period 2015-2020.
  • 2009 Honorary Member of the International Society for the Study and the Utilization of the Arcadian World Heritage
  • 2009 Distinction "Scientist of the Year 2008" by the magazine STATUS after a vote by the readers of the magazine
  • 2009 Honorary Member of the Parnassos Literary Society
  • 2009 Honorary Member and Medal of the Panhellenic Association of Friends of the Archdiocese of Athens
  • 2008 Honorary Member of the Greek Literary Translators Association
  • 2008 Gold Medal of the Municipality of Thessaloniki
  • 2008 Distinction from the Minister of Education of the Republic of Cyprus for his scientific contribution and the cooperation with the Cypriot research community (October 2008) and from the Research Promotion Foundation of Cyprus for his valuable contribution to the research in Cyprus and particularly for the research program with distinguished scientists from abroad
  • 2008 Distinction "Outstanding Greek" for his contribution to the international promotion of Greece. The distinction was awarded during the 10th Congress of Informatics and Telecommunications (Greek ICT Forum)
  • 2008 Distinction Medal from the Rector and the Research Committee of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki for his contribution to the reports of IPCC
  • Honorary Degree of Doctor of Humane Letters, University division of the American College ANATOLIA, Thessaloniki (2008).
  • 2008 Honourable Mention for the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences
  • 2007 Knighted by the Patriarch of Alexandria
  • 2007 Award Certificate and Letter from UNEP and from IPCC for his substantial contribution to the reports of IPCC, which shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with the former Vice President of USA, Al Gore
  • August 2006 Award of the European Physical Society and the Balkan Physical Union
  • 1999 United Nations Environment Program Appreciation Certificate
  • 1998 IPCC Aviation Report, Chapter 5: Solar Ultraviolet Irradiance at the Ground, Review editor, Geneva, Switzerland
  • 1998 Editors Award for Excellence in Refereeing, American Geophysical Union
  • 1997 Global Ozone Award from the United Nations Environment Programme on the occasion of the 10th Anniversary of the Montreal Protocol
  • 1995 Guest Editor, Journal of Geophysical Research
  • 1995 United Nations Environment Program Honourable Mention
  • 1981 Honorary Research Associate with the Research Center of Atmospheric Physics and Climatology of the Academy of Athens
  • 1979 Embirikeion Award
  • In the past 20 years has acted as author, contributor or reviewer in almost all WMO/UNEP Scientific Assessments of Ozone Depletion, which produced well-cited papers on ozone and UV-B trends

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-19) was last changed on Wednesday, 19. January 2022, 09:47 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by