Timothy Williamson#

Timothy Williamson
Email:timothy.williamson 'at' philosophy.ox.ac.uk
Membership Number:3544
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:UNITED KINGDOM
Homepage: http://www.philosophy.ox.ac.uk/members/philosophy_panel/tim_williamson

Present and Previous Positions

  • 1980-88 Lecturer in Philosophy, Trinity College, Dublin
  • 1988-94 Fellow and Praelector in Philosophy, University College, Oxford
  • C.U.F. Lecturer in Philosophy, University of Oxford
  • 1995-2000 Professor of Logic and Metaphysics, University of Edinburgh
  • 2000- Wykeham Professor of Logic, University of Oxford, and Fellow of New
  • College Oxford
  • 1990, 1995 Visiting Fellow, Department of Philosophy, Research School of Social
  • Sciences, A.N.U.
  • 1994 Visiting Professor, Department of Linguistics and Philosophy, M.I.T.
  • 1995 Visiting Erskine Fellow, Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies,
  • University of Canterbury
  • 1998-99 Visiting Professor, Department of Philosophy, Princeton University
  • 2004 Visiting scholar, Centre for Advanced Study at the Norwegian Academy of
  • Science and Letters
  • 2013- Nelson Visitor, Department of Philosophy, University of Michigan, Ann
  • Arbor (annual)

Fields of Scholarship
  • Epistemology
  • Metaphysics
  • Philosophy of language
  • Logic

Honours and Awards
  • Fellow of the British Academy (elected 1997)
  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (elected 1997)
  • Foreign member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (elected 2004)
  • Foreign honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (elected 2007)
  • Fellow of the Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce
  • (elected 2011
  • Nelson Distinguished Professor, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 2003.
  • Townsend Visitor, University of California, Berkeley, 2006.
  • José Gaos Chair, UNAM, Mexico, 2006.
  • Tang Chun-I Visiting Professor, Chinese University of Hong Kong, 2007.
  • President of the Aristotelian Society 2004-5.
  • President of the Mind Association 2006-7; Vice-President 2005-6.
  • Vice-President of the British Logic Colloquium 2007-.
  • Research Awards
  • AHRC Research Leave Award 2009
  • Leverhulme Trust Major Research Fellowship 2009-12
  • Máxima Distinción Académa a la Trayectoria Investigativa, Instituto de Investigaciones del
  • Pensamiento Peruano y Latinoamericano, Universidad Nacional Mayor de San
  • Marcos, Perú (2009).

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-7) was last updated on Saturday, 19. October 2013, 22:27 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by