Eric Westhof#

Eric Westhof
Membership Number:2086
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:FRANCE

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2009 Vice-President for Research and Doctoral Studies of the University of Strasbourg
  • 2007-2008 Vice-President for Research and Doctoral Studies of the University Louis Pasteur
  • 2006 Director of the CNRS Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology (IBMC), which include three CNRS units and about 230 members
  • 2005 Director of the CNRS Unit ‘Architecture and Reactivity of RNA’, which comprise around 110 researchers, technicians, post-doctoral fellows and students
  • 1988 Professor of Structural Biochemistry at the University Louis Pasteur of Strasbourg. Supervisor for the Biophysics and Structural Biology program at the Faculty of Biology of the University Louis Pasteur. Supervisor of 14 PhD theses between 1992 and 2006
  • 1984 Chargé de recherches (CR1) of the CNRS at the IBMC
  • 1981 EMBO fellowship (Institut de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire (IBMC) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Strasbourg, France)
  • 1977 FULBRIGHT-HAYS Research Fellow and Research Associate (Department of Biochemistry, University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA)
  • 1971 EURATOM PhD fellowship (Regensburg University Germany)
  • 1974 Docteur en Sciences, PhD (Liège University)
  • 1971 Licence en Sciences Physiques, Master in Physics (Liège University)

Fields of Scholarship
  • Nucleic acid stereochemistry
  • Structural biophysics and bioinformatics of RNA molecules

Honours and Awards
  • Awards
    • Jacques MONOD Prize (Institut Pasteur, Nov. 1992)
    • Structural Biochemistry Chair of the Institut Universitaire de France (July 1995)
    • Member of the EMBO (European Molecular Biology Organization, 1998)
    • Corresponding Member of the French Academy of Sciences (1999).
    • Member of the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher LEOPOLDINA (2000)
    • Member of the Academia Europaea (2001)
    • Burroughs Wellcome Fund Visiting Professor 2001-2002 (Rutgers University, NJ, USA)
    • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2001)
    • Fellow of the Institute of Physics, London, U.K. (2004)
    • Charles-Léopold MAYER Prize of the French Academy of Sciences (2007)
  • Edmond de Rothschild Lecture, IBPC, Paris, France (2012)
  • Member of the French Academy of Sciences (2011)
  • Feodor Lynen Lecture, Mosbach, Germany (2011)
  • Member of
    • Scientific Advisory Board of Ribotargets, Cambridge, UK (1997-2003)
    • Scientific Advisory Board of Nascacell, Munich, Germany (1999-2003)
    • Member and Chair of the EMBO Publications Committee (2002-2008)
    • RNA Society (Director for 2000-2001 ; President-elect 2004 ; President 2005 ; Past President 2006)
    • Biophysical Society
    • American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
    • Société française de Biophysique (Adjunct general secretary)
    • Société française de Biochimie et de Biologie Moléculaire, member of FEBS, President 2004-2009
    • Comité National de Biochimie (French Academy of Sciences), member of IUMB
    • Scientific council of the University Louis Pasteur (2002-2006)
    • Chairman of the ‘International Advisory Board’ of the Institute of Bioorganic Chemitry, Poznan, Polish Academy of Sciences (2002-)
    • Scientific council of the Biology Department of the Ecole normale supérieure (Paris) (2002-)
    • Member of the ‘Scientific Advisory Board’ de l’Institute for Interdisciplinary Scientific Computing’ Heidelberg University (2003-)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-11) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Nowak Aleksandra
  • operated by