Heinz Georg Wagner#

Heinz Georg Wagner
Sadly, this member passed away.
Membership Number:1620
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GERMANY

Heinz Georg Wagner passed away July 29, 2020.

Positions Held
  • 1983 - 1989 Vice President, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
  • 1978 - 1982 Vice President of the Faraday Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry
  • 1976 - 2006 Secretary of the Göttingen Academy of Sciences
  • 1971 - 1997 Director Max-Planck-Institut für Strömungsforschung, Göttingen (Head of the Department Reaction Kinetics)
  • 1971 - 1997 o. Professor of Physical Chemistry, University Göttingen, Member of the Max-Planck Society, Director of the Institut für Strömungsforschung
  • 1965 - 1971 o. Professor of Physical Chemistry, Ruhr-University Bochum
  • 1960 venia legendi Physical Chemistry Göttingen

Fields of Scholarship
  • Physical chemistry
  • Kinetic of chemical reactions
  • Explosion and combustion processes
  • Vapour-liquid equilibria
  • Dynamics of separation processes

Honours and Awards
  • Member of several Academies of Sciences in Germany and in other countries, the International Acdademy of Astronautics, Paris, the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina, Halle, the Academia Eruropaea and corresponding member of the Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • Member in the Advisory Board/Council of various research organisations, among them DECHEMA, curator of Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) and Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und –prüfung (BAM)
  • 1961-1969 NATO Advisory Group
  • Several medals and honorary memberships in scientific societies, several honorary doctor degrees; many distinguished lectureships in several countries.
  • 1963 Fritz Haber Preis of the Deutsche Bunsen-Gesellschaft für Physikalische Chemie
  • 1972 Bernard Lewis Gold medal of the Combustion Institute
  • 1982 Achema Plakette in Titan of the DECHEMA
  • 1987 Numa Manson Medal
  • 1987 Bundesverdienstkreuz (order of merit)
  • 1991 Dionizy Smolenski Medal
  • 1993 Walther-Nernst-Denkmünze of the Deutsche Bunsen-Gesellschaft für Physikalische Chemie
  • 1997 DECHEMA-Medal
  • 1999 Großes Bundesverdienstkreuz
  • 1999 Honorary member of the Bunsen-Gesellschaft

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-17) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by