Sebastian Suerbaum#

Sebastian Suerbaum
Email:suerbaum 'at'
Membership Number:3600
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GERMANY

Present and Previous Positions
  • Since 2016 Professor for Medical Microbiology and Director, Medical Microbiology and Hospital Epidemiology, Max von Pettenkofer Institute, LMU Munich, Germany
  • 2003 - 2016 Professor for Medical Microbiology and Director of the Institute for Medical Microbiology and Hospital Hygiene of the Medical University Hannover, Germany
  • 1999 - 2003 Professor and Deputy Chairman at the Institute of Hygiene and Microbiology, Julius Maximilians-University Wuerzburg, Germany
  • 1995 - 1999 Senior Physician and Deputy Chairman of the Department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology at the Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany
  • 1991 - 1993 Visiting Researcher at the Institut Pasteur, Unité des Entérobactéries, Paris, France,(Fellowship of the German Research Foundation)
  • 1989 - 1995 Research Assistant at the Institute of Medical Microbiology and Immunology at the Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany
  • 1988 Assistant Physician at the Clinical Department of the Bernhard Nocht Institute for Tropical Medicine, Hamburg, Germany

Fields of Scholarship
  • Carcinogenic bacterium Helicobacter pylori and related pathogens of the gastrointestinal tract
  • Helicobacter pylori, clonal structure, genetic variability, evolution and population genetics
  • Genetic variation of Helicobacter pylori in connection with human migration and the adaptation of the pathogen to its host
  • Physiology of intestinal microbiota
  • Intestinal microbiota and bowel diseases
  • Helicobacter hepaticus, infection and cancer

Honours and Awards
  • 2014 Elected Member, American Academy of Microbiology
  • 2014 David B. Schauer Lecturer (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • 2013 Elected Member, European Academy Academia Europaea
  • 2012 Heinz P.R. Seeliger-Award
  • 2011 Member National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 2007 Eva and Klaus Grohe-Award of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences
  • 2007 Behring-Lecture-Award of the University Marburg
  • 2004 Main Award of the German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology
  • 1996 Gerhard-Hess-Award of the German Research Foundation, DFG
  • 1994 Faculty Award of the Medical Faculty, Ruhr-University Bochum
  • 1994 Advancement Award of the German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology
  • 1982 - 1987 Fellow of the German National Academic Foundation

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-13) was last updated on Friday, 12. July 2019, 19:57 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by