Sauro Succi#

Sauro Succi
Membership Number:4053
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:ITALY

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2015/9-12 Visiting Professor of Computational Science, Harvard University, USA
  • 2014/9-12 Visiting Professor of Computational Science, Harvard University, USA
  • 2009-2013 External Senior Fellow, Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies, GER
  • 2010/1-3 Guest Professor, ETHZ, SWI
  • 2009/1-3 Guest Professor, ETHZ, SWI
  • 2008 - 2009 Visiting Scholar, Initiative for Innovative Computing, Harvard University,USA
  • 1995 - current Director of Research, Istituto Applicazioni del Calcolo, Rome, ITA
  • 1986 - 1995 Senior Research Scientist, IBM Europ. Ctr. Sci. and Eng. Computing, ITA
  • 1982 - 1986 PhD Student, Centre de Recherches en Physique des Plasmas, Lausanne, SWI
  • 1981 Euratom Fellow, Max-Planck Institut for PlasmaPhysik, Garching, GER

Fields of Scholarship
  • Kinetic theory
  • High performance computing
  • Classical and quantum fluid dynamics
  • Statistical mechanics
  • Computational physics

Honours and Awards
  • 2024 Co-recipient of the Premio Aspen Institute Italia 2024 per la collaborazione scientifica tra Italia e Stati Uniti
  • 2019 Berni J. Alder CECAM Prize for "having transformed the Lattice-Boltzmann method into an overarching framework for kinetic physical phenomena. In addition, he has been pivotal in building and constantly inspiring a community now counting tens of thousands of researchers in academia and industry, all across chemistry and physics, and reaching into more distant fields such as engineering or biology"
  • 2017 APS Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics
  • 2015 Weston Visiting Professor award, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • 2014 P.L. Bhatnagar Memorial lecture, 59th ISTAM Conf., Bangalore (declined for contingental reasons)
  • 2014 Opening Plenary talk at the XXVI IUPAP Conference on Computational Physics, Boston
  • 2011 Raman Chair of the Indian Academy of Sciences
  • 2011 Gordon Bell Prize co-finalist, honorable mention
  • 2010 Gordon Bell Prize co-finalist
  • 2006 Annual Distinguished Lecture, Univ. of Leicester
  • 2005 Killam Visiting Scholar Award, Univ. of Calgary
  • 2002 Alexander von Humboldt Award in Physics
  • 1999 Elected Fellow of the American Physical Society
  • 1998 Fellow of the American Physical Society

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-9) was last changed on Tuesday, 9. July 2024, 11:23 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by