Robert Stephen John Sparks#

Stephen Sparks
Membership Number:3285
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:UNITED KINGDOM

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2009 - 2012: Director of Bristol Environmental Risk Research Centre: BRISK
  • 1989 - present: Professor of Earth Sciences, University of Bristol, UK (1989-1994 Head of Department; 1998-2003 NERC Research Professorship; 1996-2008 Director of Research Centre Environmental & Geophysical Flows)
  • 1996-1998: Chief Scientist (one of 5) at Montserrat Volcano Observatory
  • 1982-1989: University Lecturer in Earth Sciences, University of Cambridge, UK
  • 1978-1982: University Demonstrator in igneous petrology at the Department of Earth Sciences, University of Cambridge, UK
  • 1976: NATO Research Fellowship at Graduate School of Oceanography, University of Rhode Island, USA
  • 1974: Research Fellowship (Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851) at Department of Environmental Sciences, Lancaster University, UK

Fields of Scholarship
  • Earth Sciences in general
  • Fluid mechanics
  • Geology
  • Geophysics
  • Mineralogy and petrology
  • Risk assessment methodologies for natural hazards
  • Sedimentology
  • Volcanic and igneous processes

Honours and Awards
  • 2011 Wollaston Medal of the Geological Society of London
  • 2010 Joseph Preistley Award 2010 (Dickenson College, Pennsylvania, USA)
  • 2010 Commander of the British Empire (CBE)
  • 2008 Thorarinsson Medal of IAVCEI
  • 2008-2012 President-elect and then President of Volcanology, Geochemistry and Petrology (VGP) of American Geophysical Union
  • 2006 Science Award of the Chiba University, Japan
  • 2005 Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) Institute de Physique de Globe de Paris, Université de Paris
  • 2004 Arthur Holmes Medal of the European Geosciences Union
  • 2002-2007 Royal Society - Wolfson Merit Award
  • 2002-2005 Honorary Research Fellow at the Natural History Museum
  • 2000 Arthur L. Day Medal of the Geological Society of America
  • 2000 Bakerian Lecture of Royal Society
  • 2000 Doctor of Science (Honorary) Lancaster University
  • 2000 Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) Universite Blaise Pascal, Clermont Ferrand, France
  • 1999-2003 President of International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth’s Interior
  • 1998 Fellow of the American Geophysical Union
  • 1998 Murchison Medal of the Geological Society of London
  • 1994-1996 President of the Geological Society
  • 1993 President of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (Section C)
  • 1988 Fellowship of Royal Society

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-6) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by