Dieter Seebach#

Dieter Seebach
Membership Number:428
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:SWITZERLAND

Present and Previous Positions
  • Presently “Akademischer Gast” at ETH
  • Since 1977 Full Professor at the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule in Zürich; retired since 2003
  • 1971 - 1977 Full Professor at the Justus Liebig-Universität Giessen

Fields of Scholarship
  • Mechanistic studies
  • Chiral dendrimers
  • Development of new synthetic methods
  • β-peptides
  • Natural product synthesis
  • Structure determination

Honours and Awards
  • 1969 Dozentenpreis Fonds der Chemischen Industrie, Germany
  • 1984 FRSC (Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, U.K.)
  • 1984 Elected member of the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina, D-Halle
  • 1985 Havinga Medal of the Stichting Havinga Fonds, NL-Leiden
  • 1987 Karl Ziegler-Preis of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker
  • 1987 First Fluka-Prize for the Reagent of the Year 1987
  • 1989 Dr. h.c. of the University of Montpellier, France
  • 1990 Corresponding member, Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur, D-Mainz
  • 1991 Centenary Lectureship and Medal, The Royal Society of Chemistry
  • 1992 Award for Creative Work in Organic Synthesis, American Chemical Society
  • 1995 The Allan R. Day Award, Philadelphia Organic Chemists’s Club, Philadelphia, USA
  • 1996 Rolf Sammet-Stiftungsgastprofessur der Hoechst AG, Universität D-Frankfurt/Main
  • The Cliff S. Hamilton Award in Organic Chemistry, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
  • 1998 Einzelmitglied der Schweizerischen Akademie der Technischen Wissenschaften (SATW)
  • 1999 The King Faisal International Prize in Science for 1999, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • The Roger Adams Award in Organic Chemistry, American Chemical Society
  • 2000 Yamada Prize, The Japan Research Foundation for Optically Active Compounds, Tokyo
  • Marcel Benoist-Preis 2000, Eidgenössischer Wissenschaftspreis, Marcel-Benoist-Stiftung (Schweiz)
  • 2001 Corresponding member of the Academia Mexicana de Ciencias (AMC), México
  • 2002 Chirality Gold Medal, International Symposium on Chirality
  • Nagoya Gold Medal, Japan
  • 2003 August-Wilhelm-von-Hofmann-Denkmünze, Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker
  • Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry for 2003
  • 2004 Vincent du Vigneaud Award 2004, American Peptide Society
  • Honorary Member of the Swiss Chemical Society
  • Ryoji Noyori Prize 2004, Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan
  • 2005 Max-Bergmann-Medaille 2005 des Max-Bergmann-Kreises zur Förderung der Peptidforschung
  • 2007 National Academy of Sciences of the USA, Foreign Associate
  • 2010 Honorary Member of the Chemical Society of Japan

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-16) was last changed on Friday, 22. October 2021, 17:14 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by