Hans Joachim Schellnhuber#

Hans Joachim Schellnhuber
Foto Hollin, 2009
Membership Number:3379
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:GERMANY

Present and Previous Positions
  • 2001 - 2009 Additional engagement as Research Director of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research and Professor at the Environmental Sciences School of the University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK
  • 1993 -Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK), in conjunction with a Chair for Theoretical Physics at the University of Potsdam, Germany
  • 1992 Managing Director of the Interdisciplinary Institute for Coastal Environment Studies (ICBM), University of Oldenburg
  • 1988 - 1993 Full Professor for Theoretical Physics, University of Oldenburg
  • 1987 - 1988 Visiting Professor at the Institute of Nonlinear Sciences, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA
  • 1982 - 1987 Assistant Professor in Physics Department, University of Oldenburg
  • 1981 - 1982 Postdoctoral Fellow at the Institute for Theoretical Physics (ITP), University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
  • 1976 - 1981 Scientific Assistant in Physics Department, University of Regensburg
  • 1971 - 1976 Student Assistant in Physics Department, University of Regensburg

Fields of Scholarship
  • Interdisciplinary climate science and climate impact research
  • Sustainability science

Honours and Awards
  • 2012 Honorary Doctorate of the Technische Universität Berlin
  • 2011 Pioneer of the German Energy Transformation (Wirtschaftswoche)
  • 2011 Honorary Doctorate of the University of Copenhagen
  • 2011 The Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, awarded by Germany's President Christian Wulff at Bellevue Palace
  • 2011 Volvo Environment Prize, awarded in Stockholm
  • 2009 "Ambassador of Science" of the State of Brandenburg
  • 2008 Times Higher Education Award: Research Project of the Year (University of East Anglia: Climate-System Tipping Elements, initiated by Hans Joachim Schellnhuber)
  • 2008 Order of Merit (“Roter-Adler-Orden”) of the State of Brandenburg
  • 2008 Environment Prize of the “Bundesdeutscher Arbeitskreis für Umweltbewusstes Management e.V.“ (B.A.U.M)
  • 2007 Longstanding Membership of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (e.g., Coordinating Lead Author for the Working Group II Synthesis Chapter in the Third Assessment Report) who was awarded a Nobel Peace Prize in
  • 2007 German Environment Prize
  • 2005-2009 Visiting Professor in Physics and Visiting Fellow of Christ Church College at Oxford University
  • 2005-2009 Distinguished Science Advisor for the Tyndall Centre
  • 2004 Honorary CBE (Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire) awarded by Queen Elizabeth II in
  • 2003 Ambassador of the International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme
  • 2002 Wolfson Research Merit Award and Research Fellowship of the Royal Society
  • Membership of the Max Planck Society, the German National Academy (Leopoldina), the US National Academy of Sciences, the Leibniz Science Association, the Geological Society of London, and the International Research Society Sigma Xi
  • 1987 Heisenberg Fellowship of the German Science Foundation (DFG)
  • 1970 Bavarian Scholarship for the Exceptionally Gifted

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-11) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by