James Rothman#

James Rothman
© Alena Soboleva
Membership Number:4163
Membership type:FOREIGN
Main Country of Residence:UNITED STATES

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2014 - present Research Professor, UCL Institute of Neurology, University College London
  • 2008 - present Professor and Chairman, Department of Cell Biology; Professor of Chemistry; Wallace Professor of the Biomedical Sciences; Director, Nanobiology Institute,Yale University
  • 2004-2008 Clyde and Helen Wu Professor of Chemical Biology, Department of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics Director, Sulzberger Genome Center; Columbia University
  • 1991-2004 Founder and Chair, Department of Cellular Biochemistry and Biophysics; Paul A. Marks Chair; Vice-Chairman; Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
  • 1988-1991 E.R. Squibb Professor of Molecular Biology, Princeton University
  • 1978-1988 Assistant, Associate (1981), Full (1984) Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Stanford University
  • 1976-1978 Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Biology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Fields of Scholarship
  • Protein sorting
  • Neurotransmitter release
  • Membrane fusion proteins
  • Vesicle exocytosis
  • Cell secretion machinery
  • SNARE complex
  • Cell traffic
  • Presynaptic machinery

Honours and Awards
  • 2013: Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (with Randy W. Schekman and Thomas C. Südhof) "for their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells"
  • 2010: Kavli Prize in Neuroscience
  • 2010: Massry Prize
  • 2010: EB. Wilson Medal
  • 2005: Honorary Member, Japanese Biochemical Society
  • 2002: Louisa Gross Horwitz prize of Columbia University
  • 2002: Lasker Basic Science Award
  • 2001: The Otto-Warburg Medal, Germany
  • 2000: Heineken Foundation Prize of the Netherlands Academy of Sciences
  • 1999: The Jacobæus Prize, Denmark
  • 1997: Lounsbery Award of the National Academy of Sciences
  • 1997: The Harden Medal, UK Biochemical Society
  • 1996: King Faisal International Prize for Science
  • 1996: Gairdner Foundation International Award
  • 1994: Fellowship, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 1994: The Rosenstiel Award in Biomedical Sciences (with R. Schekman), U.S.A.
  • 1993: Membership, National Academy of Sciences USA
  • 1989: The Alexander Von Humboldt Award, Germany
  • 1986: The Eli Lilly Award for Fundamental Research in Biological Chemistry, U.S.A
  • 1986: The Passano Young Scientist Award, U.S.A.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-8) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by