C.N.R. Rao#

C.N.R. Rao
Membership Number:1764
Membership type:FOREIGN
Main Country of Residence:INDIA

Present and Previous Positions
  • Linus Pauling Research Professor & Honorary President, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore, India
  • 2004 - present Adjunct Professor of Chemistry, Purdue University
  • 1995 - 1999 Albert Einstein Research Professor
  • 1989 - 1999 President, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
  • 1984 - 1994 Director, Indian Institute of Science
  • 1977 - 1984Founder Chairman, Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit and Materials Research Laboratory, Indian Institute of Science
  • 1983 - 1994 Jawaharlal Nehru Professor, University of Cambridge and Professorial Fellow, King's College, Cambridge
  • 1963 - 1976 Professor of Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India (Head of Department and later Dean of Research of the Institute)

Fields of Scholarship
  • Structural chemistry
  • Solid state and materials chemistry

Honours and Awards
  • 1967 Marlow Medal for outstanding contributions to Physical Chemistry, Faraday Society, England (1967)
  • 1976 Centennial Foreign Fellowship of the American Chemical Society
  • 1981 The Royal Society of Chemistry (London) Medal for outstanding contributions to Solid State Chemistry
  • 1989 Hevrovsky Gold Medal, Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences
  • 1989 Honorary Fellowship, The Royal Society of Chemistry, London
  • 1991 Balackett Lectureship, The Royal Society, London
  • 1996 Albert Einstein Gold Medal, UNESCO, Paris
  • 2000 Centenary Lectureship and Medal, Royal Society of Chemistry, London
  • 2000 Hughes Medal for Physical Sciences, The Royal Society, London
  • 2002 Officier de L'Ordre des Palmes Academiques, France
  • 2002 Order of Scientific Merit, Grand-Cross, President of Brazil
  • 2003 Gauss Professorship, The Academy of Sciences, Gottingen, Germany
  • 2004 Somiya Award of the International Union of Materials Research Society (IUMRS)
  • 2005 The Dan David Prize for Science in the Future Dimension in the field of materials science
  • 2005 Chemical Pioneer, American Institute of Chemists, USA
  • 2005 Chevalier de La Légion D'Honneur by the President of the French Republic
  • 2006 Honorary Fellowship, Institute of Physics, London
  • 2007 Honorary Fellowship, St. Catherine’s College, Oxford
  • 2008 Nikkei Asia Prize for Science, Technology and Innovation from Japan
  • 2009 Order of Friendship, by the President of Russia
  • 2009 The Royal Medal (The Queen's Medal), by the Royal Society, London, U.K

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-10) was last changed on Tuesday, 23. January 2024, 09:01 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by