Josef Penninger#

Josef Penninger
Copyright IMBA / Hans Krist
Membership Number:2613
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:AUSTRIA

Present and Previous Positions

  • Since 2011 Vice-President of ERI-ICP (European Research Institute on Intracellular Pathology), Paris
  • Since 2011 Guest Professor of the Medical University Vienna, Austria
  • since 2010 Affiliate Scientist, Keenan Research Centre, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michaelʼs Hospital, Toronto
  • Since 2004 Honorary Professor of Peking Union Medical College/Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences, Beijing, China
  • Since 2004 Professor of Genetics, University of Vienna, Austria
  • Since 2004 Adjunct Full Professor, Departments of Immunology and Medical Biophysics, University of Toronto, Canada
  • 2002 - 2004 Full Professor, Departments of Immunology and Medical Biophysics, University of Toronto, Canada. Since Since 2002 Scientific and Founding Director, IMBA, Institute for Molecular Biotechnology of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna
  • 1999 - 2002 Associate Professor, Departments of Immunology and Medical Biophysics, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Since 1998 Full Member; School of Graduate Studies, University of Toronto
  • Since 1998 Associate Professor (Dozent), Department of Experimental and General Pathology, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  • 1994 - 1999 Assistant Professor, Departments of Immunology and Medical Biophysics, University of Toronto, Canada
  • 1994 - 2003 Associate Scientist, The Ontario Cancer Institute, Dept. of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Princess Margaret Hospital, Toronto
  • 1994 - 2002 Principal Investigator, Amgen Institute, 620 University Avenue, Toronto
  • 1990 - 1994 Postdoctoral fellow. The Ontario Cancer Institute, Princess Margaret Hospital

Fields of Scholarship
  • Genetical manipulation and change of genes in mice
  • Determination of the effects of these mutations on the development of the whole organism and in diseases
  • New models in flies to model diseases at the whole genome level
  • Establishment of basic principles of physiology and basic mechanisms of disease pathogenesis
  • Heart and lung diseases, cancer, and bone diseases

Honours and Awards
  • 1987 Special fellowship from the Austrian Ministry for Arts and Science
  • 1988 Scholarship from the European Federation of Immunological Societies
  • 1990 "Highest talented" Award from the Rotary Club Innsbruck
  • 1991 "Anton von Eiselsberg" price for best medical related scientific work in Austria (awarded for data from Josef Penninger's thesis)
  • 1990-1992 "Erwin Schroedinger" Fellowship from the Austrian Fonds zur Förderung der Wissenschaftlichen Forschung
  • 1993 "Austrotransplant-Biotest" price from the Austrian Society of Transplantation, Transfusion and Genetics
  • 1994 Talentefoerderpraemie (talent price for science and culture) from the province of Upper Austria
  • 1994 National Medal of Technology – awarded by the US President (as member of Amgen)
  • 1999 “The William E. Rawls Prize” (for outstanding contribution to cancer research) from the National Cancer Institute of Canada
  • 2000 Included in the “Celebration of Canadian Healthcare Research” of leading historical and contemporary medical scientists in Canada during the 20th century selected by The Association of Canadian Medical Colleges, The Association of Canadian Teaching Hospitals, The Alumni and Friends of the Medical Research Council and Partners in Research
  • 2000 Selected as a “Young leader in Medicine in Canada” by the Globe and Mail (a total of 4 “leaders” were selected) to commemorate 133 years of Canada in the new millennium University of Toronto
  • 2000 Top 10 list of the “hottest” scientists in 1998 and 1999 in the world (according to ISI and based on most paper citations)
  • 2000 Canadian Research Chair in Cell Biology
  • 2001 Top 10 list of the “hottest” scientists in 1999 and 2000 in the world (according to ISI and based on most paper citations)
  • 2001 Named One of Canadaʼs Top 40 under 40
  • 2001 Honorary member of the Golden Key Society
  • 2002 Young Canadian Explorer Award (from CIAR)
  • 2002 Listed among the 10 most promising scientists in all fields in the world by Esquire magazine
  • 2002 Elected to the Austrian Academy of Sciences as Corresponding member
  • 2003 Landeskulturpreis fuer Wissenschaft von Oberoesterreich (Culture Prize for Science from the province of Upper Austria
  • 2003 International Research Prize in Bone Research
  • 2003 Austrian Scientist of the Year Award
  • 2003 Recipient of an EU Excellence grant
  • 2004 Elected to the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina
  • 2004 Austrianʼ04 award
  • 2005-2010 Young Global Leaders 2005 (elected from The Forum of Young Global Leaders/World Economic Forum)
  • 2006 Descartes Prize (the highest EU research prize)
  • 2007 Ernst Jung-Preis for Medicine
  • 2007 Elected as the youngest full member to the Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • 2007 Wellenreiterpreis by the Austrian Management Club (received for the promotion of science and central Europe integration)
  • 2007 Carus-Medaille of the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina (received for cancer research and cardiovascular diseases)
  • 2008 Carus-Prize of the City of Schweinfurt
  • 2008 Included to list of 1000 most important Austrian immigrant/emigrants in politics, arts, sports, philosophy, business, or music, from 1900-2008.
  • 2008 Karl Landsteiner prize of the Austrian Society of Immunology and Allergology
  • 2008 Elected as EMBO member
  • 2008 Recipient of the first ERC Advanced grants.
  • 2009 ESCI Award by the European Society for Clinical Investigation
  • 2009 Medal of The Australian Society for Medical Research (ASMR)
  • 2009 Elected to the Academy of Europe (Academia Europaea)
  • 2009 Elected member - European Research Institute for Integrated Cellular Pathology (ERI-ICP)
  • 2010 Elected member - European Academy for Tumor Immunology (EATI)
  • 2012 Elected AAAS Fellow for “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.”
  • 2012 Innovator Award, Era of Hope/DOD
  • 2013 Recipient of an EU Advanced Grant
  • 2014 Wittgenstein Award

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-10) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by