Ole Petter Ottersen#

Ole Petter Ottersen
Membership Number:4602
Membership type:ORDINARY
Main Country of Residence:SWEDEN

Present and Previous Positions

  • 1978-1983 Research Fellow, Anatomical Institute, University of Oslo
  • 1983-1992 Associate Professor (Prosektor), Anatomical Institute, University of Oslo
  • 1992-to date Professor of Medicine, Institute of Basic Medical Sciences, UiO
  • 1997-1999 Head of the Department of Anatomy, Institute of Basic Medical Sciences, University of Oslo
  • 2000-2002 Dean of Science, Faculty of Medicine, University of Oslo
  • 2001-2002 Head of EMBIO (Interfacultary Unit for Molecular Biology, Biotechnology and Bioinformatics at the University of Oslo)
  • 2003-2007 Chairman of the Board of FUGE (National Program for Functional Genomics in Norway)
  • 2002-2009 Director, Centre for Molecular Biology and Neuroscience (Center of Excellence sponsored by the Norwegian Research Council; www.cmbn.no)
  • 2005-2009 Coordinator, Nordic Centre of Excellence in Molecular Medicine (WIRED)
  • 2006-2009 Chief Editor of Neuroscience (Official Journal of the International Brain Research Organization)
  • 2009-2017 Vice-chancellor, University of Oslo
  • 2017- Vice-chancellor, Karolinska Institutet

Fields of Scholarship
  • Cellular neuroscience
  • Neurotransmission
  • Brain homeostasis

Honours and Awards
  • Anders Jahre's award for medical research to younger researchers 1990
  • The University of Oslo Prize for Scientific Research 1994 (Universitetets forskningspris)
  • The Lundbeck Foundation Nordic Award for Outstanding Research 2005(shared with Jon Storm-Mathisen)
  • Anders Jahre’s award for medical research (senior prize) 2008
  • Member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters 1993
  • Member of Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina 2001 (now German Academy of Sciences)
  • Member of The Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters 2006
  • Member of Scanbalt Academy 2006
  • Honorary Doctor University of Kuopio 2010
  • Honorary Doctor École Normale Supérieure, Lyon 2015
  • Professional memberships
  • Member of the European Neuroscience Association (FENS)
  • Member of the Society for Neuroscience (USA)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-8) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Kaiser Dana
  • operated by