Kostya (Ken) Ostrikov#

Kostya (Ken) Ostrikov
Membership Number:4094
Membership type:FOREIGN
Main Country of Residence:AUSTRALIA

Present and Previous Positions

  • 2015 - Present Professor, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • 2015 - 2017 Science Leader of the Office of the Chief Executive, CSIRO (Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation), Australia
  • 2015 - Present Visiting Foreign Professor, Zhejiang University and Peking University, China
  • 2011 - 2015 ARC Future Fellow (Full Professor), CSIRO and Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • 2011 - Present Adjunct Professor, The University of Technology Sydney, University on New South Wales, Sydney, Griffith University, Brisbane, Australia
  • 2011 - 2017 Honorary Professor, The University of Wollongong, Australia
  • 2011 - 2014 Top-end Foreign Visiting Professor, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
  • 2008 - 2015 CEO Science Leader, ARC Future Fellow and Chief Research Scientist, Plasma Nanoscience Center Australia (PNCA), CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering, Australia
  • 2008 - 2017 Honorary Professor, The University of Sydney, Australia
  • 2004 - 2009 ARC Queen Elizabeth II Fellow and Associate Research Professor, The University of Sydney, Australia
  • 2002 - 2004 Lee Kuan Yew Research Fellow, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Fields of Scholarship
  • Plasma health care and medicine
  • Nanotechnology, nanofabrication
  • Nanoscale synthesis and processing
  • Energy, environmental, health, and other industrial technologies
  • Plasma catalysis
  • Low-temperature plasma applications
  • Nano-plasmas and plasmonics
  • Materials science
  • Plasma nanoscience
  • Functional nanomaterials and devices

Honours and Awards
  • Academician (Foreign Fellow), the European Academy of Sciences (since 2019)
  • Fellow, Institute of Physics, UK (since 2019). For outstanding contributions and promotion of Physics discipline
  • NML Researcher Award (2018) for research excellence in the field of nano and micro science and continuing outstanding contributions to the development of science (Nano-Micro Letters and Nature Research Society).
  • Foreign Fellow of Academia Europaea (2015)
  • “Excellence in Mathematics, Earth Sciences, Chemistry and Physics” NSW Science and Engineering Award (2014). Office of NSW Scientist & Engineer and NSW Trade & Investment of NSW Government.
    This award recognises my research excellence across physical, chemical, and biological sciences
  • Inaugural Building Future Award (2012) by Germany’s Federal Ministry of Economics, EU’s Association of Electronic Industries, and the world’s largest Trade Fair (Light & Building, Messe Frankfurt.
    This high-profile biennial award is presented to personalities whose achievements are of importance not only for society today but also for future generations, in recognition of outstanding achievements and innovations in scientific research that sets a landmark in sustainable development in our society.
  • Walter Boas Medal, Australian Institute of Physics (2010). For original research that has made the most important contribution to physics in the last 5 years. One of the most prestigious awards in Physics in Australia.
  • Pawsey Medal of the Australian Academy of Sciences (2008). For the most outstanding research in physics by an Australian scientist under the age of 40. One of the most prestigious awards in Physics in Australia.
  • ARC Future Fellowship, Level 3, Full Professor (2011-2015). One of the most prestigious fellowships in Australia with no more than 30 fellowships of this level awarded nation-wide across all disciplines per year.
  • CEO Science Leader Fellowship and Award, CSIRO (2008-2017). CSIRO’s most prestigious fellowship; prestige and level of support comparable to ARC Federation Fellowship.
  • Australian Queen Elizabeth II (QEII) Fellowship of the ARC (2004-2009). One of the most prestigious fellowships in Australia with no more than 15 QEII fellowships awarded nation-wide across all disciplines per year
  • Lee Kuan Yew Research Fellowship, Singapore (2002). Most prestigious and competitive mid-career research fellowship in Singapore, with only a few fellowships awarded at that time annually, across all disciplines
  • CSIRO Chief’s Award for Science Excellence, Australia (2011). For outstanding multidisciplinary research
  • National Top-End (short term) Visiting Professor Awards, China (2012-4, 2015-7). Highly-prestigious and competitive program to attract pre-eminent visiting professors who are internationally renowned in their fields.
  • More than 10 honorary, adjunct, and visiting full professor-level appointments in 5 countries, including the
  • Prominent Researchers from Abroad Distinguished Visiting Professorship Award of the Ministry of Science of Slovenia (2008, 2012), and the Foreign Visiting Professorships of Peking University and Zhejiang University, China (2015)
  • CSIRO’s Chief Research Scientist in Plasma- and Nano- Technologies (2012)
  • Convenor, iPlasmaNano International Conference Series (annually since 2009) and Leader, Internat. Plasma Nanoscience Collaborative Research Network and Executive Committee, since 2008
  • Distinguished Doctor of Sciences, Kharkiv National University, Ukraine (2009)
  • Fellow, Australian Institute of Physics (since 2008)
  • Alexander von Humboldt Research (1997-1999) and Long-Term Cooperation (2002) Fellowships, Germany
  • Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Invitation Research Fellowship (2000-2001), Japan
  • Royal Society Postdoctoral Research Fellowship (1997), UK
  • Best Young Scientist of the Year Award, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (1997)

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-17) was last changed on Monday, 14. June 2021, 13:59 by Ostrikov Kostya
  • operated by