Athanasios Nenes - Biography#

Prof. Nenes has more than 315 papers published/in review including 21 high-impact journals, is cited over 26700 times in Google Scholar (h = 89). Named a WoS Highly Cited Researcher in Geosciences, Nenes also carries a patent on aerosol instrumentation, which has seen commercialization and transformed its field. His theoretical & modeling work generated open source codes routinely used worldwide for regulatory purposes and climate modeling. Measurement techniques and analysis of field data developed by Nenes led to simple relationships that accurately describe cloud droplet formation in climate models.

Prof. Nenes always fostered a research environment promoting excellence, growth, scientific inquiry and independence. Nenes has advised 20 PhD students and 20 post-doctoral researchers. Of the graduated PhD students and postdocs, 5 of them are faculty members in the US, 1 each in Canada, Colombia, Italy, Greece, Germany and Cyprus. Other group members have acquired permanent positions at NASA, and the US Department of Energy. Students have received highly competitive awards in the US and the European Union (e.g., Marie-Curie reintegration grants). One student (R. Moore) received a United States Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest distinction offered to young scientists and engineers.

Professor Nenes served as editor of the Journal Atmospheric Chemistry & Physics for 15 years, and assumed leaderships for more than a decade in the American Association for Aerosol Research (including 2014 Conference Chair) and served two terms as Secretary for Aerosols and Clouds of the American Geophysical Union. Nenes served on the US National Academy’s Committee on the Future of Atmospheric Chemistry Research and also was a member of the UN Joint Group of Experts on the Scientific Aspects of Marine Environmental Protection (GESAMP) – Working Group 38. Nenes is active President of the Atmospheric Sciences Division of the European Geophysical Union (a position that is elected by the membership of the Union), co-chair of the Swiss Academy of Sciences, Geosciences Research Infrastructure Roadmap and has served on several committees and panels, including the European Research Council.

Imprint Privacy policy « This page (revision-3) was last changed on Saturday, 24. July 2021, 16:46 by System
  • operated by